Why You Should Never Fall Asleep in Your Hammock at Twilight in Panama

I’ve been asked a few times if the mosquitos are bad in Panama.  I can honestly say no, we have not experienced one mosquito bite here.  Some mosquitos in Panama carry the Dengue Virus and the local governments are very good about keeping standing water under control.   They will drain and spray any larvae so we’ve experienced very few mosquitos in our area.  Good right?  Wrong!  We had to contend with the dreaded Chitra or Sand Fly.  You could also call them No Seeums, Gnats, Biting Midges, Sand Fleas or just plain annoying.

Chitra bites are itchier than mosquito bites and the more you scratch the worse they itch.  The bug is only about one eighth of an inch in size but the reaction to the bite can leave red weals one to two inches big.   Chitras find their victims from the carbon dioxide we exhale and some people have very bad reactions to the acid that these little nuisances inject into us through their hollow snouts.  We’ve noticed that the bites that have healed take a little longer to tan so it seems that there is some scarring that happens if you’ve been scratching a lot.  I’ve even had bites on the bottoms of my feet.  The lesson learned; don’t fall asleep in el hamaca during the bad times of day.

Chitras live and breed in sand.  The closer you live to the ocean the worse they are and in Panama they are worse on the Caribbean side than the Pacific side.  As we see the water from our house it’s about two kilometres so Chitras are moderate here.  They are really bad at our friend’s homes that live near the beach.  Chitras like to attack at sunrise or sunset.  Wouldn’t you know my two favorite times of day?  They will also start biting on those humid grey days and are worse when there is no wind.  But they are out every day.  During estación seca they shouldn’t be so bad in our area.

If winds are calm in our area or we’re out closer to the ocean when it starts getting dark we make sure that we’re wearing long pants so our ankles and legs don’t get chewed.  Another good preventive measure is to spray something with DEET in it like OFF!  We like the Active – Sweat Resistant type but  a few people will use Deep Woods.  I’ve also found that baby oil or coconut oil also keeps the bites down.  The Chitras get stuck in the oil (kind of gross I know) and they can’t get through it to bite.  The only thing about this method is that you have to keep reapplying it but although it does keep your skin nice and soft.  I’ve also heard that Avon’s Skin So Soft bath oil works as does citronella lotions.  We have screens on all our windows and ours have a small enough mesh that the Chitras can’t get through.  Dusty and El Gordo have discovered that they must close their windows in their new casa before dusk because the little buggers are so small they can get through the screens.  Some people will also use mosquito nets over their beds to keep the biters at bay.

People with lowered immune systems or those who are especially adventurous and like to get a bit off the beaten path and into the rain forest around the Caribbean should be especially careful to protect themselves against Chitra bites.  Some Chitras will carry Leishmaniasis.  This is a parasitic disease spread by bites from infected Chitras. The type found in Panama shows up as persistent, itchy skin sores.  It’s also best not to scratch the bites to avoid infection.

When we do have bites that are driving us crazy we try not to scratch but sometimes it’s just impossible.  We use a cream the spousal unit got from the doctor in Canada when he had some infected sand flea bites from our trip to the Cook Islands in January.  Unfortunately we had dinner at a beach restaurant one night where the fleas had a fantastic time dining on our feet.  The spousal unit kept scratching the top of one foot with the other and when we returned home shortly after it was quite clear one foot was infected.  The cream we have has Fusidic acid to help with healing and seems to help with the itch.  Once used up we’ll likely go to the farmacia to get something with Crotamiton or hydrocortisone in it for anti-itching.  We’ve also tried Calamine Lotion which does give some relief but isn’t the best.

So remember; don’t fall asleep in your hamaca later in the day without a mosquito net over top of it, use a repellent or thick oil to prevent bites, or cover yourself up at night so you don’t become a Chitra buffet!

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Things Panameño and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Why You Should Never Fall Asleep in Your Hammock at Twilight in Panama

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection ~ What People Read on the Blog | In Da Campo

  2. Pingback: Living in an Infierno de Agua y Chitras | Unnoticeable Me 13

  3. These guys are EXHAUSTINGLY unbearable! I can’t understand how something so small can wreak such HAVOC!!! AHHHHHHHH!

  4. Robert says:

    Wow. Chitras seem to be quite problem in Panama.

    I live in White Rock, BC, Canada and don’t have screens on any windows or doors. There’s no mosquitoes or chitras here, and almost no flies. Nobody I know has bug screens in White Rock.

    I leave my patio door and windows open in the summer for a cooling breeze off the ocean, no need for a bug screens at all.

    • indacampo says:

      They aren’t that bad now, Dry Season is here.

      White Rock, home of the Big White Rock and Ra McGuire.

      Thanks for reading!

    • Billy Greene says:

      Have been to Panama a few times and ran into my worst batch of Chitra’s on devil’s beach. What we found that worked the best to kill them after you are bitten, is clear finger nail polish. Simply apply over the entry point of where they start digging. This will suffocate it and it will die rather quickly and stop it from digging. Grant it, it’s not a pleasant thought of it dying under your skin. But your body will absorb it very quickly. The faster it dies, the faster you will feel relief.

  5. Rahan says:

    I found your post comments while searching Google. It is very relevant information. Great work. Regularly I do not make posts on blogs, but I have to say that this posting really forced me to do so. Really awesome post. Really fantastic and I will be coming back for more information at your site and revisit it! Thank you.
    Noseeums Biting Midges .

  6. Pingback: It’s Wet Season…Yes There are Bugs and Stuff that Go With Them Part 2 | In Da Campo

  7. I’ve experienced these little buggers in both Honduras and the Caribbean side of Panama and have the big, red welt reactions which are always a true style statement! Very unsightly but also itchy and quite irritating. I’ve tried everything to avoid the bites and Off seems to work best but not completely. Luckily, since we’re travelers, I know we’ll be going to another destination soon which always has the chance of less or even none of the little critters!

    • indacampo says:

      I have the theory that the longer one lives with them the less they enjoy sipping your blood. We don’t have much of a problem with them now unless we are in a different area where the Chitras don’t know us. I brought a couple of those fancy new OFF clip on repellent things back from Canada and we’re anxious for a calm night to try them out, when it’s windy the buggies don’t bother us as much! 🙂

  8. oldsalt1942 says:

    I’ve never run across the chitras here in Boqueron but I have some mosquitoes. In the five years I’ve been here in Panama I’ve been bitten maybe half a dozen times altogether. Knock wood no dengue. I listen to radio station CHT (Say ahchay tay) that plays tipica music which I love. Several times a night they play a commercial about dengue and what people need to do to keep the mosquitoes at bay. I’ve never seen any agency spraying or doing anything to keep the insects down, but people are aware.

  9. Darlene says:

    I read this blog a while back in preparation for our trip. When we got to our first stop, the chitras got me good. So I refound your post to see what was said to deal with the intense itch. Unfortunately, the farmacia did not have what you had mentioned. So through hand signals and Google translator I got across the problem I had. She gave me “Alergel” which works wonderfully!

    • indacampo says:

      They always sense new blood and until you get used to the ones in your area you’ll be extra sensitive to them. We’ve had several dry Wet Seasons but this year the weather is more like a regular year. And it’s heaven for the Chitra’s.

  10. David says:

    Buen artículo, saludos…great article. .

  11. Pingback: El Valle de Anton – Sunday, February 19 – Travel Notes

  12. Linda MIchaud says:

    Ida do you know where to buy screen small enough to stop the chitras.

  13. Linda MIchaud says:

    We are in Pedasi and they are unbearable, want to screen in our bohio. Any ideas on where to get screens to keep them out? Thanks, Linda MIchaud

  14. April says:

    We are in Bocas del Toro.
    Niagara Spray starch works fantastically to relieve itching. Spray on feet and legs usually most affected areas.] Available in the grocery stores.Is not toxic or harmful.
    We have noticed that new visitors get the most bites, and some people react badly. I always apply one of our various creams- to soles of feet, in between toes, and even inside flip flops. They like to start at the bottom- so I start at the bottom and work up. As soon as one bites I go into action- never wait, as it just gets worse. There is always more than one! Repel Lemon eucalyptus is good and Deet Free. Also nice on the skin. Also some local oils are good.Good to wear pants at day’s end or after a rainstorm when there is calm. Fans are good too- especially ones that sit on the floor, to keep a breeze moving. They are minuscule- almost not visible like a dot! Good luck. Immunity does seem to develop.

  15. Melissa says:

    Okay. Here’s the truth about these little invisible chitras. They ruined my trip. I have been back to Canada for two days now and my bites have gotten bigger and itchier. They are way worse than mosquitos. They attack at all times of the day or night. We were in playa Bonita area.

    Just for the record baby oil does not help bonuses that as a moisturizer every night after my shower. Go for dinner and get eaten. I even think they are in the room biting me while I sleep. Sun tan oil doesn’t keep them away either. I brought down two cans of OFF for one week. Used both cans and am covered and I do mean covered in bites. Back for two days and they are still big Red Swollen. Filled with pus then eventually it forms a dry head that when picked off forms another scabby head. I have no idea when they will finally go away. I have used after bite. Anti itch lotion. Gold bond. Vinegar. Even toothpaste. Been swimming in my salt water pool for two days in hope to dry them up. Took pictures tonight of one side of my arms and under arm pit. I look diaeasesd. I have been wearing long sleeve shirts in a heat wave to not scare People.

    Needless to say I never plan on going back to Panama. Food is mediocre at best. The cal is an amazing experience and the monkey tour is amazing. Other than that there are many many more appealing places to go to. Ones were your only memories will not be eaten alive by invisible chitras. Sorry for my honesty. Maybe in a year the agony of my experience will fade and I won’t sound so down on the place.

    I do agree that they love certain people more than others. Five of us down there. One hardly got any bites while two of us got the lion share.

    They say prevention is the cure. Not sure how to prevent. I didn’t find my OFF work at all. Or maybe it did. Maybe I would be worse off had I not used two cans.

  16. Bozo Bob says:

    Look for a product called Naturepel. It’s made with picardin, a pepper derivative. It’s not as greasy as DEET and works better against sand flies. But it only lasts an hour or two. Good luck!

  17. Mary says:

    Hi! We have Sand gnats in South Georgia, too!
    A company from Dublin, Ga, makes NO NATZ which works better than Deet and AvonSkinSo Soft ( our Go- To solution before NoNatz!). It’s all natural and keeps the gnats away for hours- smells good too!!
    Hope this helps!

I'd love to hear from you!