Music Monday ~ Resonate

resonate (v)

  1. Produce or be filled with a deep, full, reverberating sound.
  2. Evoke images, memories, to produce a positive feeling, emotional response, or opinion.
  3. (Of an idea or action) meet with agreement.
  4. Technical, produce electrical or mechanical resonance.

An idea or a feeling can resonate when expressed accurately or with passion.  When you can relate literally or figuratively, something resonates with you.   It can be a song, a speech, a circumstance. The response influences you physically and/or emotionally.

Resonate is a song written by Ben Spencer, recently moved back to his home province of Alberta after spending the past decade in Montreal.  The melody is almost like a hymn and it denotes people finding their way back home to Alberta, the place they call home. The song is the central theme of ATB Financial’s newest campaign: ATB Listens. Alex Vissia sang and played piano on the recording. The video was filmed in Calgary, but scenes highlighting the beauty of Alberta are edited in throughout.

As the time draws near for me to leave Canada, I’m feeling a little sad at heart.  I love Panama, and I love Canada.  Both countries are so different in many ways and yet upon closer examination similar.  Family circumstances are changing and that may bring some changes. I don’t often resonate with a commercial but it’s the music in this Alberta Treasury Branch advertisement that drew me to it as I prepare to return…to the campo.

If you like the song and would like to stream or buy it you can find it here, here, here, and here.

Resonate

Do you hear the sound
In the trembling ground
In the air, the wait so long

For the sole keepsake
Of an old heartache
Is a whisper, an echo, a song

I find my way back home by the birds and bones
By the westbound sun to a place I’m known
The streets will remember even if I don’t
I’ll find my way back home

Now a thorn finds place
In a torn shoelace
As green entwines the night

And the hymnal freights
Resonate
Lead me on by sweet starlight

I find my way back home by the words and moans
By a promise made and a promise owed
As gravity pulls from a moonlit road
I’ll find my way back home

 

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Music Mondays and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Music Monday ~ Resonate

  1. Si hablamos del tema hay fijate el sitio este http://cerrajeriaurgenciapanama.com/

  2. I haven’t seen any posts for awhile, I’m just checking in on you, I hope everything is OK

  3. Darlene says:

    I am wondering about you and your’s. As one of your readers, I am sure that you have the ability to find peace and joy in life and your choices.

  4. Hellow again, I am wondering … and worrying. I hope all is well with you and your family.

  5. Disregard the Hellow .. I meant “Hello” I’ll blame my cold and stiff fingers

I'd love to hear from you!

