Music Monday ~ Sound of Silence

I wrote The Sound of Silence when I was 21 years old and still living with my parents. The main thing about playing the guitar was that I was able to sit by myself, play, and dream. I was always happy doing that. I used to go off in the bathroom, because the bathroom had tiles, so it was a slight echo chamber. I’d turn on the faucet so that water would run (I like that sound, it’s very soothing to me) and I’d play. In the dark. ‘Hello darkness, my old friend / I’ve come to talk with you again’. ~ Paul Simon ~

tweet

Today’s Music Monday choice is a new cover of an old Simon and Garfunkel song and was suggested by regular reader Catherine.  I owned Simon and Garfunkel’s Greatest Hits (on vinyl) at one point.  I think I wore out the grooves on it.

Disturbed’s  version of the song has garnered mixed reviews.  When I went to watch the video on YouTube is was approaching the 110 million mark.  I’m not normally a heavy metal band fan but I didn’t mind this version of the old classic.   Paul Simon himself called it “powerful” and a “wonderful rendition”.

Keep an open mind whilst you’re watching it and go ahead and leave a comment about your thoughts on this version.

The Sound Of Silence

Hello darkness, my old friend
I’ve come to talk with you again
Because a vision softly creeping
Left its seeds while I was sleeping
And the vision that was planted in my brain
Still remains
Within the sound of silence

In restless dreams I walked alone
Narrow streets of cobblestone
‘Neath the halo of a street lamp
I turned my collar to the cold and damp
When my eyes were stabbed by the flash of a neon light
That split the night
And touched the sound of silence

And in the naked light I saw
Ten thousand people, maybe more
People talking without speaking
People hearing without listening
People writing songs that voices never share
And no one dared
Disturb the sound of silence

Fools, said I, you do not know
Silence like a cancer grows
Hear my words that I might teach you
Take my arms that I might reach you
But my words, like silent raindrops fell
And echoed in the wells of silence

Songwriter ~ PAUL SIMON

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Music Mondays and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Music Monday ~ Sound of Silence

  1. Timelesslady says:

    Powerful was the word that came to mind for me too.

    • indacampo says:

      The song is deliberate, thoughtful, and contemplative. All definitely evoke the feeling and action of being “powerful”.

      Thanks for commenting. 😊

  2. Gwen stirling says:

    I loved it👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻Powerful and incredible video.

  3. Robert Kim Shapland says:

    I’ve seen this posted on Facebook and have listened more than once. I like this version every bit as much as the original.

    • indacampo says:

      It’s a wonderful reinvention of the original. This version brings the song to a new generation of listeners I think. 😊

  4. At first I was thinking, “How could any cover compete with the original?” but Disturbed’s version is extraordinary. I haven’t watched a music video so moving in a long time and I’ll be thinking about this one for awhile. I even shared it a second time with my husband. Thanks for sharing. Anita

    • indacampo says:

      The more I listen to the song the more it almost feels classical in the tone and mood. Glad you enjoyed it!

  5. Catherine Virgenock says:

    Well, you already know I love it. I think it is incredibly.moving and perfect for his vocal range. I too loved the original but this version makes me tear up … maybe that’s why some of the YouTube comments talked about playing it at funeral sercices. I think I’ll add it to my list, I will want a lot of weeping people there.

    • indacampo says:

      Thank you for suggesting it! I can see how one would want it played at a funeral. It’s as mournful as the bagpipes in some respects. Amazing Grace on the bag pipes to be exact, it has almost the same cadence and tempo.

  6. Catherine Virgenock says:

    Adding Amazing Grace (bagpipes) to my funeral list now … and lots of boxes of Kleenex!

  7. Pingback: Wisdom Wednesday ~ 05/10/2016 | In Da Campo

  8. Catherine Virgenock says:

    Further research into David Draiman of Disturbed who is singing this song .. a sad childhood story. He was very close to and partially raised by his strict Orthodox Jewish grandfather. He attended basically Jewish elementary and high schools and graduated from Loyola College, worked in healthcare and even had his own company at one time. As he got older and more into rock, grunge, heavy metal music, a bit rebellious and questioning religion, his grandfather disowned him. David also talked about how basically he is not the typical rock “knucklehead,” he cannot engage in drinking/partying lifestyle, he doesn’t have the stamina and probably also to protect his voice. And many have said he is a very sweet lovely family man. So he got the phone call while performing at Ozzfest to come and make peace with his grandfather on his deathbed, which he did, although he was really shaken up about it. Think of all that old man missed because all the grandfather probably saw were the piercings & leather despite the face that he was a good kid and a good man … smart and kind. How sad for both of them.

    • indacampo says:

      Thanks for the information Catherine.

      Indeed it is a sad story. The Ladies (as I’ve taken to calling my Auntie and my Mom) and I were just talking today about how life is too short not to choose to forgive. Forgiveness is a gift you give yourself, not the person that has wronged you. And indeed it is a choice. Hopefully the old man found some peace and David gave himself the gift of forgiveness.

  9. Post script … On Thurs evening I checked Disturbed’s concert schedule …. they were playing in Atlantic City NJ on Friday, 3.5 hrs away and from there heading to Europe for a few months. There was one single seat really close to the stage. I thought this was a sign from the Universe so I bought the ticket, took Friday off, packed up Cliff my dog and off we went. A couple of people tried to scare me into not going, talking about the rough crowd of “metal freaks” that would be attending (why so judgemental?). But anyway, the concert was absolutely fantastic, my seat/view was excellent, the hotel really nice, and my dog loved running on the beach on Saturday morning. The people I met at the concert were really friendly. a good mix of old and young, tattoos, piercings, and heavy metal joint replacements. SO GLAD I listened to the Universe and went, I got to watch them sing this amazing song.

    • BOB SHAPLAND says:

      “Heavy metal joint replacements” – I love it!!!

    • indacampo says:

      Wow, you’re right it was something or someone speaking to you.

      Others might have called what you did reckless but it only goes to show how enriched life can become if we take a chance occasionally and step outside the comfort zone. I can see from your story so many great experiences you would have missed out on if you had listened to the naysayers.

      High fives all around Catherine!

I'd love to hear from you!

