Talk Thursday ~ Stillness

stillness

Going nowhere … isn’t about turning your back on the world; it’s about stepping away now and then so that you can see the world more clearly and love it more deeply.  ~Pico Iyer ~

I’m a big fan of Pico Iyer.  I’ve either quoted him or shared a video on this blog at least three times.  One of my favourite Ted Talks is by Pico, and I included it on the blog in 2014.  It’s all about Home.   If you haven’t seen it or would like to view it again, you can find it here. 

 As I continue my extended visit to Canada, I’ve taken the time reflecting on both my homes.  There is beauty in both of them.  My home in Panama and my home in Canada.  I think that to appreciate what you have; you need to spend some time away from it.    My reflections work in both directions; I can see the little things that annoy me in both countries much clearer than ever before.  I can also see that some of the things I find annoying about Panama also exist in Canada.  I’m also remembering what I miss about Canada and what I miss about Panama.  What I’ve mostly done though is practice walking meditation.  Quietness and observance of my surroundings.  Stillness through shutting the outside clutter out.

 I was reading the local newspaper the other day and found that Pico Iyer is in residence at the Banff Centre from September 26 to October 8th.  The title of the residency is “The Art of Stillness,” which also happens to be the name of his most recent book.   Today I’m sharing the video he did for TED about the art of stillness.

Other links:

The Art of Stillness Residency

Sunday Review: The Joy of Quiet

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you!

