Stroke

n: A sudden disabling attack or loss of consciousness caused by an interruption in the flow of blood to the brain, especially through thrombosis.

 A line from the Book of Ecclesiastes (3:1-11) that I included in yesterday’s post has been a recurring thought for me for the last week-plus:

There is an appointed time for everything,

          and a time for every thing under the heavens.

Just over a week ago, while visiting in Canada with my mother she had a stroke, and I was standing just three feet away from her.  It all happened in the blink of an eye.  Luckily, I recognized the signs right away and had my aunt dial 911.  Mom was in the hospital having a clot removed from her brain within an hour.  That is how quickly things moved.

I think it is important at this point to emphasize how important it was that I noticed the signs right away.  Luckily, less than a week later Mom was back home, a new stent in her carotid artery, a little tired and weak but fully able to talk and walk.

The reason I share this with you all is that I think it’s important to be well versed in some of the classic signs of stroke because it can happen to anyone at any age.

stroke

If you have watched the above video, it describes pretty much what happens. The person experiencing the stroke is aware but cannot communicate what is happening. The doctors told me that it is important to get medical attention within four to six hours. A drug called tPA can help re-open blocked arteries if that is the cause of the stroke. Mom had a CT scan and a large clot was discovered. She was quickly whisked off for surgery and it was retrieved through her femoral artery.  A few days later she had a carotid stent put in.

Some common risk factors for stroke are:
• High blood pressure
• Irregular heartbeat (such as atrial fibrillation)
• Lifestyle — Lack of exercise, unhealthy diet, unhealthy weight, excessive alcohol use
• Smoking
• Diabetes
• High cholesterol (lipids)
• Sleep apnea
• Hormone replacement therapy

Spotting the signs and acting fast might mean the difference between life and death. It could mean the difference between a full recovery and lasting disability. Remember FAST, which stands for: Face – is it drooping? Arms – can you raise both? Speech – is it slurred or jumbled? And Time, to call 9-1-1 or your local emergency service right away. Would you know when someone is having a stroke?

An appointed time for everything, a time for every thing under the heavens.
Fast Lockups_EN

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Just blogging away! and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Stroke

  1. Robert Kim Shapland says:

    Your mother is VERY fortunate that you were there and recognized the signs. Hopefully she will have no lasting effects from it due to your quick action.

  2. Catherine Virgenock says:

    It was so fortunate that you were right there and recognised the signs of a stroke; I am glad your Mom recovered. My family has a history of debilitating strokes. My Dad lost the use of his right side and speech at age 61, younger than I am now. My Mom had to care.for him for 18 yrs as if she had a newborn, God bless her. My Dad did ALL the wrong things including not taking his blood pressure pills & smoking, despite seeing both his mother & 2 brothers suffer similar strokes. I try to do the right things but my sisters & I constantly worry that someone won’t recognize OUR signs .. like the men my Dad worked with, he was slurring his speech and stumbling. They drove him home (my Mom was at work). He went to sleep for a few hours on the couch while his brain was dying. So sad.

    • indacampo says:

      Since it happened I have encountered many people who have had parents experience stroke and not be as fortunate. Timing really is important as is education.

      I just took Mom to a new doctor today and she said she treats smoking like a disease so they will be discussing her disease every appointment. I say good luck doctor. 😊

      So sorry for the loss of your dad and your mom’s quality of life in her later years.

      • Catherine Virgenock says:

        Thank you. I hope your Mom listens to her doctor. Smoking is so harmful, the worst thing and it definitely contributed to his stroke. She would not want to live like my Dad. Imagine going through 18 years of life … grunting and pointing, unable to talk, walk, bathe yourself, read, write, hold great-grandchildren. Your Mom got a second chance, NOT MANY DO, she needs to do all she can to hold on to what she didn’t lose for HER next 18 years. Women are a lot stronger. Quitting smoking is difficult but not impossible. She can do it. Positive thoughts & prayers for both of you.

  3. Whoa! Glad she had such a good outcome. How fortunate that you were there.

    • indacampo says:

      Yes. Some people have said that there was something larger at play. 😊 We’re very happy that she is on the road to recovery and can continue to live independently.

I'd love to hear from you!

