Music Mondays ~ Coconuts and Limes

I awoke this morning with this classic earworm playing a loop in my head.  Perhaps it was because I bought both limes and coconut yesterday…in the campo.

Coconut Song

Brother bought a coconut, he bought it for a dime
His sister had another one she paid it for the lime

She put the lime in the coconut, she drank ’em bot’ up
She put the lime in the coconut, she drank ’em bot’ up
She put the lime in the coconut, she drank ’em bot’ up
She put the lime in the coconut, she call the doctor, woke ‘I’m up

And said “doctor, ain’t there nothin’ I can take?”
I said “doctor, to relieve this belly ache”
I said “doctor, ain’t there nothin’ I can take?”
I said “doctor, to relieve this belly ache”

Now lemme get this straight
You put the lime in the coconut, you drank ’em bot’ up
Put the lime in the coconut, you drank ’em bot’ up
Put the lime in the coconut, you drank ’em bot’up
Put the lime in the coconut, you call your doctor, woke ‘I’m up

Said “doctor, ain’t there nothing’ I can take?”
I said, “doctor, to relieve this belly ache”
I said “doctor, ain’t there nothin’ I can take?’
I said, “doctor, to relieve this belly ache”

You put the lime in the coconut, you drink ’em bot’ together
Put the lime in the coconut and you’ll feel better
Put the lime in the coconut, drink ’em bot’ up
Put the lime in the coconut and call me in the morning”

Woo-oo-ooh, ooh-ooh-ooh
Woo-oo-ooh, ooh-ooh-ooh
Woo-oo-ooh, ooh-ooh-ooh, ooh-ooh-ooh

Brother bought a coconut, he bought it for a dime
His sister had another one she paid it for a lime
She put the lime in the coconut, she drank ’em bot’ up
She put the lime in the coconut, she called the doctor, woke ‘I’m up

And said, “doctor, ain’t there nothin’ I can take?’
I said, “doctor, to relieve this belly ache”
I said “doctor, ain’t there nothin’ I can take?”
I said, “doctor, now lemme get this straight

You put the lime in the coconut, you drink ’em bot’up
Put the lime in the coconut, you drink ’em bot’ up
Put the lime in the coconut, you drink ’em bot’ up
Put the lime in the coconut, you’re such a silly woman

Put a lime in the coconut and drink ’em bot’ together
Put the lime in the coconut, then you’ll feel better
Put the lime in the coconut, drink ’em both down
Put the lime in your coconut, and call me in the morning

Woo, ain’t there nothin’ you can take?
I say, woo, to relieve your belly ache
You say, well woo, ain’t there nothin’ I can take?
I say woo, woo, to relieve your belly ache
You say ya, ain’t there nothin’ I can take?

I say wow, to relieve this belly ache
I said “doctor, ain’t there nothing I can take?”
I said, “doctor, ain’t there nothing I can take?”
I said, “doctor, ain’t there nothing I can take?”
I said, “doctor you’re such a silly woman”

Put the lime in the coconut and drink ’em both together
Put the lime in the coconut, and you’ll feel better
Put the lime in the coconut, drink ’em bot’ up
Put the lime in the coconut and call me in the morning

Yes, you call me in the morning, you call me in the morning
I’ll tell you what to do if you call me in the morning
I’ll tell you what to do if you call me in the morning
I’ll tell you what to do if you call me in the morning
I’ll tell you what to do and if you call me in the morning
I’ll tell you what to do

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Music Mondays and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Music Mondays ~ Coconuts and Limes

  1. Catherine Virgenock says:

    Oh thanks a lot, now I have an earworm and NO lime OR coconut

  2. prior.. says:

    have not this song in a while – wow – and the video was funny – I did not realize that gorillas wrote the original (kidding)

    • indacampo says:

      LOL!!! I hadn’t heard it in forever either. That is why it’s so dang strange that I was thinking about it… 😵

      • prior.. says:

        love when that happens 🎼🎼🎼and all the more when u have both like and coconuts – and now that i think about it – both of those are summery and good for the body !

  3. It’s a classic and one of my favorites – And now it’s playing on an endless loop in my head too! Anita

  4. Bob Shapland says:

    I actually listened to that song not long ago on my iPod, but had never seen the video before. And where have you found any limes around here. I can find tons of limons, but no limas, even in Las Tablas or Chitre.

I'd love to hear from you!

