Talk Thursday ~ City of Knowledge

As I posted on Tuesday, I helped my friend with her market day at the French Market at La Plaza in the City of Knowledge/Ciudad del Saber.

The main thing that struck me as I visited the COK for the first time in a few years was how clean it was.  COK has its own recycling program and there are garbage cans and recycle bins everywhere.  Waste management has clearly been  a priority everywhere in the community.  Our table was not far from a bank of garbage and recycle bins and I watched several times as staff demonstrated which been the different types of recyclable went in to.

The communal spaces have been laid out beautifully and great thought put into how best use old buildings and green spaces.  There are wide roads and large sidewalks and yet parking lots are also tucked here and there to make sure that cars aren’t lining the roadways.

When we arrived it looked like there was a road race or walk that had just begun with the starting line at the sports field nearby:

City of Knowledge City of Knowledge

I found this video that demonstrates the transformation of Ciudad del Saber into a leading edge, sustainable community and workplace.  Enjoy this little, different slice of Panama when I was not…in the campo.

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Talk Thursday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Talk Thursday ~ City of Knowledge

  1. pklainer says:

    Karen, you know, of course, that this was the old Canal Zone. In the Peace Corps days we didn’t have entry into the Zone unless we needed care at Gorgas Hospital, which was the main trauma center for the entire Southern Command as well as the local hospital for the Zonians. Panamanians couldn’t enter either unless they worked in the Zone and had proper ID. It gives me great joy to see this area repurposed by the Panamanians and being used in multi-purpose ways!

    • indacampo says:

      It has really come a long way in the last few years. I hadn’t been over there for a long time. I remember the first time we were over there seeing it and wondering what all the fuss was about. But now I know. 😀 And it’s all so clean and sparkly, even the old buildings.

      I’ve been over to Gorgas Hospital, it almost seems suspended in time in many of the buildings. And all those narrow roads built into the hill. Wow, a real rabbit warren.

      • pklainer says:

        Does Gorgas still function as a hospital? I thought it was closed a long time ago. We took some comfort as Peace Corps volunteers in having access to the hospital, but what no one pointed out was that we’d have to find a way to let someone in the Panama City office know we were sick or injured, and that without cell phones or any phone access from most of our sites.:) Quite the challenge. I have been to the City of Knowledge on my last visit; that’s where Lily is taking her Spanish course from a branch of Florida State. I thought the area looked great too.

      • indacampo says:

        Gorgas has a newer modern building that functions as a cancer hospital but for the most part the rest of it is the offices of Salud. The buildings remind me of the green and white military buildings that I’ve seen in many US and Canadian bases. And the parking is of course non existent.

  2. Cathy V says:

    City of Knowledge sounds like a pretty area. I’ll have to check it out when I go to Panama, since I am such a smartass (or so I have been told).

    • indacampo says:

      LOL 😀 There are still areas that are very military looking but they’ve done some great things with the community. And yes, a smartass like you would probably like it.

  3. Pedasi Pundit says:

    How did Allison do with her products at thr French Market?

  4. David Hubble says:

    Stationed in Fort Clayton from 78′ to 80′. Now known as CoK or CdS. Oh yes I have been back a couple of times. My old barracks are now a converted office bldg. It is a very nice area but too expensive for this soon to be retiree. Panama (to me) IS a place you can go back to. Even the old Balboa Yacht Club was the same. Thanks.

    • indacampo says:

      I think some of the prettiest areas in the city are the converted areas. Although there are still some spots that could use a little TLC and renovation. 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

