Talk Thursday ~ Exercise

I’ve recently returned from spending some time in Panama City.  I was there a little longer than I anticipated, but that story is for another day.

Unbeknownst to me, although I thought that I was just going to visit my friend, I was actually walking in to “Ali’s Bootcamp”.  It was great fun, and we had a busy week and a half running around doing errands, exercising, eating smaller portions and I even went to a Salsa lesson.  I have to tell you folks, if you ever get an opportunity to take a Salsa class, do it!  It was fun and a great work out!

I’ve been hearing a lot lately about metabolism, exercise and diet.  Recent studies indicate that diet plays the main role if one is to lose weight.  This means that activity and exercise or lack of both are unlikely to be the cause of weight gain.  We just need to learn to put the burger down or at least eat a smaller portion.  That’s not to say that we shouldn’t exercise, adding exercise to diet can benefit one’s health immensely by building muscle and strengthening the heart and lungs.

Today’s video from Vox discusses the correlation between exercise and losing weight.  I think so many of us slip into the “well, I worked out today so I can have a plate of French fries, or one of those delicious MacDonald’s sandwiches with the pancakes…” and then we wonder why our pants don’t fit.  I know I’ve done it once or twice, okay…maybe a bazillion times…in the campo.

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Talk Thursday ~ Exercise

  1. prior..2001 says:

    I can’t watch the video right now – but the boot camp ((and salsa)) sounds fun!
    And I hear ya on learning about this – I agree about the combo and the food – the things I have learned that changed my life related to “what” we eat – and for me I needed more good fats – oh whew – and sometimes blood type matters – like for me – I do better with red meat – but I like your point about portions – check out “CR” ((if you have not already) which is calorie reduction or restriction – studies have food findings about CR correlating to longevity and other good things !
    I think light fasting is key too /

    Oh and I also think that intestinal cleansing is a must – not to make this too long – but “flukes” are overlooked and many people get them from swimming or from certain host foods – and in our health Group – numerous people were gaining weight and were told it was metabolism – which. Was partly true – and they took NAC and l-cysteine – and misc things –
    But it was not until they did a series of intestinal cleanses (and passed flukes and other things) that they really rebuilt their bioterrain to burn fuel effectively – also – many folks have candidiasis and then malabsorption issue from that (very common) and so cleanses can lead to better nutrient absorption (mucosa lining) and more effective immune function.
    Anyhow – great post – thanks

    • indacampo says:

      Thanks…and that’s a lot of information to absorb.

      I think what it boils down to is if you have had weight issues and have also been eating not so well for a number of years it might be a good idea to get your whole system cleansed out. In this way you’re starting with a clean slate to begin to put good things back into your body.

      We always eat plenty of fruit and veg but I also have a weakness for sweets and bread…which I know if not eaten in moderation are my downfall. This time away helped to remind me to stop putting so much crap into my body. I was doing so well for the past year after needing to put some weight back on after my Dengue bout. But, then I stopped exercising and life kind of got in the way. And I figured, if my friend, who has just as big a sweet tooth as I do, can do it, so can I. 🙂 And as she reminded me, I have to look after myself and not get distracted by the myriad of things that happen in my day.

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

      • prior..2001 says:

        and thanks for your nice reply! 😉
        I am sure you heard of paleo – and while I do not fully like it – what I learned from some of this idea is that we are more satisfied with rich and dense foods and with good oils! I was so oil deprived and eating dense foods helped me get off sweets, onto ramble – but sweets are a mixed thing – always a minus food -but for some people – sweets and wrong carbs can be almost lead to a third type of diabetes – the work of dr hoffer from the 50s should sugar and sweets had a correlation to some disease and folks healed by cleaning (and flushing with niacin)
        anyhow – I love how you share your process and progress- because it truly is a journey as we understand our bodies and choices More!
        and cheers to good physical and mental health – thanks again for taking the time to reply! 😉

  2. Catherine Virgenock says:

    Yes, you are right about that portion control. Exercise is important too. I am the classic yo yo … I have lost/gained 50# probably 6 times now. You would think I wouldn’t gain it again after how hard it is to lose it. State of mind is also part of it. Stressed & depressed has me eating a lot of pasta & ice cream (not together!) my 2 vices. Plus life here in the fast lane USA … giant portions, drive thrus everywhere, and constant food commercials on TV.

    • indacampo says:

      I always look forward to indulging in gelato when I go to the city, it’s one of the treats I’ve always enjoyed with my friend. This time, although we did indulge in one portion controlled sundae cup, this visit was gelato free… I missed it, but not really. Once I got into the groove we started talking each other out of treats like that and we substituted kiwis for her and apples for me… It helps to have someone talk you out of “needing” something I think. 🙂

  3. Very interesting video. I learned a lot. It just goes to show that if you don’t use it you lose it!

    • indacampo says:

      Si… And it’s easy to undo all the good that we do when we’re trying to be healthy. I love the end when the doctor talks about how you can undo all your exercise with a slice of pizza. 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

