Talk Thursday ~ The evolution of the book

Today’s talk is inspired by a post by friend Kris about the joy of books.

Are you a reader?  What was the most memorable book you read as a child?

I am a reader.  I can’t ever remember not loving reading.  Dr. Seuss, Little Golden Books, and, my most memorable book as a child of 11 was Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret.  There was a wait list for the book at the elementary school I went to, but I think I read it three times.

I remember Scholastic Books, and getting an order form at school to bring home.  I would scour the flyer cover to cover several times, making a wish list of a dozen books but being happy if I was able to pick one from the list.  I loved finding something in the discount section that interested me because, if it was cheap enough I’d be able to get two that month.

Then, I was old enough for the ‘real’ library.  I remember the Alexander Calhoun Library, a small building built into a little berm, progressing from the children’s section to the teen section, even the smell of the library and the books.    Later, when I was older, that building was torn down and a new library was built beside it.

When I was in Junior High, a group of us discovered Harlequin Romances.  Luckily for us, one of my friend’s mothers read them voraciously.  After her mother read them, my friend would read them and then she’d pass them on.  There’s nothing like a friend passing on a book.  I think part of the draw of the books was that they took place in different locales, the books were cheap, and they were quick reads.

As an adult, I will read everything and anything.  As a reader living in Panama, one of my favourite things is my Kindle.  I still enjoy holding a ‘real’ book in my hand but here, it’s so much easier with my Kindle.  Both SU and I use them every, single, day.

And now without further adieu, here is the talk for this week, The evolution of the book  brought to you by Julie Dreyfuss and TedEd.  Is a book a book if it isn’t made of paper?  I hope you enjoy this little video about the history of the book it as much as I did…in the campo.

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Talk Thursday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Talk Thursday ~ The evolution of the book

  1. BOB SHAPLAND says:

    As a child, my favorites were The Hardy Boys and a mystery series by Alfred Hitchcock written for kids. I also remember the joy of ordering those books at school like you. Still love to read, mostly on Kindle.

    • indacampo says:

      The Bobbsy Twins! Had the whole set. I wasn’t a Nancy Drew reader. And thank the tech gods for the invention of the e reader. Thank you for reading and commenting. 😊

  2. Books are a great goodness!!

  3. Pedasi Pundit says:

    I passed English in High School by doing many book reports!

I'd love to hear from you!

