Talk Thursday ~ Startling, Sound, and Sampling

Today’s talk began with an annoying sound.  Well, let me rephrase that, the search for the video began with a startling and annoying sound.  That sound was a concrete truck, backing up.

We have had a bit of construction going on in the hood lately.  On Tuesday, there were a few concrete trucks at the condominium project down the road.  We all understand that larger trucks need alarms to let other people know that they are backing up.  However, this one had an unusual alarm.  It was a car alarm.  A very loud and annoying car alarm.  In addition, it backed up all the way from the empty lot beside us down the road where the building is.  At first, we were not sure where the sound was coming from until the noise began to fade the farther away the truck got down the road.  It was not just a honk, honk type it was the whoo, whoo, whoo type.

The reason I chose to present this video today was that the more I researched annoying sounds, the more I realized that the irritating sounds that researchers have proven annoying, are not really annoying to me, at least on video.  If you’d like to see what they are you can check this out. Then, as usual, my mind takes me down another road and I found this interesting video about music sampling.

Music sampling takes a track from a classic song and reworks it into a new piece.  In the talk today Mark Ronson discusses music sampling.  There are arguments about whether music sampling is a plagiarism or a new creation or as Mr. Ronson calls it “musical evolution”. Even if you are not interested in the topic of music sampling, which is contentious at best to some people because of the legal issues, watch the last few minutes of it.  You might just change your mind.  I promise it will be worth it…in the campo.

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Talk Thursday and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Talk Thursday ~ Startling, Sound, and Sampling

  1. I think we have always used other music as a starting point for our own creativity. But saying you were influenced by those artists is different from saying i used their actual recorded music in my own creation, I suppose. I don’t think it’s wrong but I can see how others could disagree.

    • indacampo says:

      I was also reading about how art is always inspired by “something”, be it in nature, something man made, or another artist’s work. I think that problems arise when the “new creator” doesn’t credit the inspiration. What’s the saying? “Everything old is new again.” 😊

I'd love to hear from you!

