Talk Thursday ~ Pause at 1:22

The threat to move to Canada surfaces among Americans every four years that President Obama and Prime Minister Trudeau joked about it during Justin Trudeau’s state visit to the United States.

In truth, there have been people who followed through on their threat.  Approximately 100,000 American Loyalists traveled north because of the American Revolution.  Black Americans headed to Canada to flee slavery.   300,000 American pioneers settled in the Canadian prairies in the early 20th century.   And there are varying estimates as to how many Americans settled in Canada during the Vietnam War as draft dodgers and war resisters.   The number is somewhere between 50,000 to 240,000. That means the last great exodus to the North Country took place between 1955 and 1975.

Seriously.  Or not.  There are so many little things to keep your eye out for in this video.  I’ll give you one.  Pause this video at 1:22 and read the text.

Leave me a comment if you find some other quirky things, like the pumpkin head.  What time did it appear?  Let’s keep it light, this is for fun…in the campo.

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Talk Thursday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Talk Thursday ~ Pause at 1:22

  1. mcmoller says:

    Pumpkin head-7:36
    Is this what you mean by some other quirks?
    Interviewing Hello Kitty
    Micky, Minnie, and Pooh in background
    A woman & man leaning on restaurant counter looking toward camera filming interview, apparently texting. They are there, later not there, then later they are there again. (Obviously interview not in sequence.)

  2. Cathy V says:

    I’m just putting this comment here because it’s all somewhat tied into my plan to move to Panama … made before Trump crawled to the surface and certainly firmed up since then. It is also tied into your advice in a previous post to learn Spanish, which I have been doing for the past several months. I was getting out my Spanish workbook to do a little studying tonight when I just saw a really fantastic Bud Light Lime commercial on TV … you can Google it and find it. It’s a pool party and the voice-over says …”What if palm trees could talk? I bet they would speak Spanish — man, I wish I spoke Spanish.” I think it’s a message from the Universe to me! It inspired me to devote more time to my lessons … and maybe to have a cerveza right now. Buenas Noches to you and los gatos too.

    • indacampo says:

      I love this comment! Sorry, it was my first instinct and so I wrote it! Buenas notches to you from Dos Gatos and their two humans. 😊

    • indacampo says:

      Sorry. Autocorrect did the “notches”. 😊 Yay autocorrect. Not.

      • Cathy V says:

        I hate Auto Correct too. I was texting my sister about my cat. I wrote … “I was petting Cass for about 5 minutes before I got out of bed. Cliff (my dog) jumped on the bed so I started petting him a bit and the cat (who terrorizes my pit bull) came charging and started batting at me and Cliff with his claws out and sliced up my finger. Well Auto Correct changed it to … “I was petticoat getting my dog” Why is petticoat even in their word bank, who even wears them these days? Plus I had just typed twice about “petting” My sister replied “why are you making Cliff wear a slip, do you want to turn him into a crossdresser?” I didn’t know what she was even talking about until she told me to re-read my post. HAVE A GREAT WEEKEND!

  3. I like the gal with the blue lipstick.
    I couldn’t move to Canada. Too cold! And seriously, moving out of the country does nothing to change what is going on in the country. Get involved and work for change instead.

I'd love to hear from you!

