Music Mondays ~ She Makes Me Laugh

I heard on the radio the other day that some old friends are returning.  Those of us of a certain age (ahem), remember the original boy band The Monkees:

Hey, hey, we’re the Monkees
And people say we monkey around.
But we’re too busy singing
To put anybody down.

It was the show about an imaginary band that got so popular that it became a band.  A band so popular that in 1967 their album outsold the Beatles and the Rolling Stones combined.  The group’s members, Davy Jones, Micky Dolenz, Michael Nesmith, Peter Tork played a struggling rock band, and although the television show only lasted two seasons (58 episodes in all) it lives on in syndication.  Admittedly, I was pretty young but I can remember having a huge crush on Davy Jones.

The band disappeared for a while in the 70’s came back with a new single in the 80’s and then disappeared again.  Davy died in 2012 at the young age of 66 from a heart attack. It looked like The Monkees were over, but they are on tour again with a new album.  Good Times! is the twelfth studio album by the Monkees. It is produced by Adam Schlesinger and recorded to commemorate the band’s 50th anniversary and it is getting great reviews. Mike Nesmith is not joining the tour but has participated in interviews and SKYPED into a recent concert.  During performances, their videos run behind them and Micky’s sister Coco is the main backup singer.  Davy is present in “Day Dream Believer via video and the band plays along.

Here is a recent interview from CBS Sunday morning with the remaining members:

The first single from the new album, the catchy “She Makes Me Laugh,” was written by Rivers Cuomo of Weezer, and today I’d like to share it with you and as a bonus “Daydream Believer”…in the campo.

 

 

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Music Mondays and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Music Mondays ~ She Makes Me Laugh

  1. Tammi Kale says:

    Oh yes, I remember….and I saw them on GMA last week and they were still sharp as a tack – those two that are left, that is….That’s the sad part.

    • indacampo says:

      Both SU and I got a little nostalgic. I played several of the YouTube videos and listened to a few songs. 😊

  2. Catherine Virgenock says:

    YOU remember The Monkees? I thought you were a much younger woman. My sisters and I loved them too. I saw them about 20 yrs ago at a baseball game and couldn’t control myself, I rushed to the stage as fast as my arthritic joints allowed. They were great. So sad about Davy Jones, I still have a crush on him. Thanks for the heads-up on the new music and the old song, I will crank them up tonight.

    • indacampo says:

      I have to admit I was young when the were first on television. It would have been around the time of my youngest brother’s birth and when there were many changes were happening in our family. I guess that’s why I remember it so well. And Batman… 😊

  3. mcmoller says:

    Davy was my favorite singer when I was about 15, and I used to watch all their TV shows. Thanks for the memories.

I'd love to hear from you!

