I Have Yellow Nails

I have yellow nails.  No, I haven’t been painting nor have I taken up smoking, it’s mango season once again.  We’re very fortunate to have friends that know how much we enjoy mangoes.  When they have a few to spare we will have a bag delivered to us, or we are invited to go and take as many from the tree as we can carry.

This year the season is a little later, and the fruit is not as plentiful as last year.  Mangoes are ready to harvest roughly three or four months after they flower.  Once the mango trees came into bloom this year and started fruiting the winds from El Niño knocked many of the babies from the trees.  Now that the winds have died down, the fruit is ripening all at once.

It’s difficult to tell if a mango is ripe just by looking at it, the perfect mango can stay green with just a hint of yellow or a blush rose.  The best way to harvest the fruit is to use a fruit picker, a basket on the end of a long pole, but most people will wait until the fruit falls to the ground, especially the fruit that is high up.  By the time some of the mangoes fall the birds will have a peck or two out of them and if the tree near Howler Monkeys there will often be a bite or two taken out of them.  The ripe mangoes that survive all the critters will have a lovely fruity, tropical floral fragrance near the stem.

Mango skin is edible but I prefer to peel ours before eating or freezing them.  Often, we’ll see people walking around with whole mangoes eating them like apples the sweet, sticky juice running down their arms.   Some of the fruit will have a sticky sap, so I always wash them, although often the giver has already done it for me. I then use a knife to peel a thin line around the mango and after that, it’s simple to slip my fingers under the skin and pull it off and cut the flesh away from the stone.  I usually save some fruit to eat fresh, but we freeze most of it for smoothies and eating later.

I love mango season and I don’t mind the yellow nails that come with it.  I’m also grateful that I have friends who remember every year to share the spare fruit from their bountiful trees…in the campo.

Panama mangoes. Panama mangoes.

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to I Have Yellow Nails

  1. mcmoller says:

    This year my tree full of mangos ripened early in March. Then the tree flowered again and now I have more. If you want any, let me know. I have plenty already frozen from the first harvest.

    • indacampo says:

      It’s great to have a steady supply. 😊 Carol has lots and Mitzy was telling me to go over and get some from her place. It seems that all the different varieties are ready at once.

  2. You’ve reminded me of mango season in the Pacific where there were spare mangos everywhere. Unfortunately it is not a fruit I like although I did like eating them whilst they were still greenish and firm without juice. They were like peaches then and lovely.

  3. Pingback: Spare (Cow) | What's (in) the picture?

  4. Cathy_V says:

    Buenas Dias, you made me so hungry for mangoes yesterday I went out and bought some!  I’m hoping they will taste as good but I have a few doubts.

    Sent from my Verizon, Samsung Galaxy smartphone

    • indacampo says:

      Imported mangoes are picked green so they don’t have quite the same flavour. I visited my family last year during cherry season which made me one happy gal. I think I saw them in the store here once and they were almost $15.00 so I took a pass. We’re so fortunate to get many tasty things here that are either very cheap or free but I still miss the seasonal fruits from North America sometimes. 😊

  5. What a spectacular interpretation of ‘Spare’; I love the mangoes and the fact that you share them with others. You’ve earned my ‘Follow’.

    Have an amazing day! 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

