Talk Thursday ~ Like, How We Communicate, and What It Says About You

I recently finished a university grammar course that I thought would be a cake walk. Was I ever wrong! Depending on your age and where you are from, you may or may not have taken a formal grammar class. You see, most people learn their first language and its rules by osmosis and unless you’re going to write or speak as a profession, you’ll likely have skipped the formalities of learning formal English grammar. Every language has its little nuances of construction and order and when one is learning a second language that can often be confusing.  Learning Spanish is a good example,

Every language has its little nuances of construction and order and when one is learning a second language that can often be confusing.  Learning Spanish is a good example.  A few of the differences are: nouns have a gender, adjectives come after a noun, it uses ‘no’ to make things negative instead of all the English ‘un’, ‘dis’, ‘in’ etc., and capitalization and punctuation are different.

Vera Regan studies the way we use language. In the talk today, she shares her research into a few global language variants, as well as the ways we use ‘like’ in English. This talk tells us how people use filler words like ‘like’ and reveals thought-provoking facts about how they understand and relate to the world. One of the interesting details that I took away is that all English speakers use ‘like’ but where they put it in a sentence depends on where they’re from and what English they’re speaking.

One of the things I learned during my course was to avoid filler words in writing. Terms such as: like, just, so, very, really, that, and then, but, of, some. There are so much more overused words, and I’ve found it’s difficult not to use them as they become a part of our speech pattern and writing style. The one word that has been very much common place in writing and speech lately and one that I grit my teeth at when I hear it or read it is ‘literally.’ It’s often used incorrectly or without need. I could write a whole blog post on how much I dislike that word. For now, I’ll leave you with today’s video…in the campo.

What word irritates you when you hear it?  Keep it clean, and leave me a comment!

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Talk Thursday and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Talk Thursday ~ Like, How We Communicate, and What It Says About You

  1. Eric et Sandrine says:

    “I mean” used over and over in a conversation would be what annoys me the most.

    • indacampo says:

      Oh,yes! I mean, that literally is just so annoying, you know! 😊 Thanks for commenting, you’ve been MIA for a while.

I'd love to hear from you!

