Music Monday ~ Today

Earworm time again.

Last week was Mental Health Awareness Week in Canada, the theme this year was #GETLOUD.  It’s also Mental Health Month in the USA.  I watched a movie where this was sung acoustically and now it’s playing on a loop in my head.

Today is a good day and it’s good to remind ourselves that tomorrow will be too…in the campo.
_____________________________________________________________

“Today” is a song by American alternative rock band The Smashing Pumpkins, written by lead vocalist and guitarist Billy Corgan. The song, though seemingly upbeat, contains dark lyrics. Corgan wrote the song about a day in which he was having suicidal thoughts, exemplified by the reference to self-mutilation in the chorus. The contrast between the grim subject matter of the song and the soft instrumental part during the verses, coupled with use of irony in the lyrics, left many listeners unaware of the song’s tale of depression and desperation. The song alternates between quiet, dreamy verses and loud choruses with layered, distorted guitar…
Wikipedia

Today

Today is the greatest
Day I’ve ever known
Can’t live for tomorrow,
Tomorrow’s much too long
I’ll burn my eyes out
Before I get out

I wanted more
Than life could ever grant me
Bored by the chore
Of saving face

Today is the greatest
Day I’ve never known
Can’t wait for tomorrow
I might not have that long
I’ll tear my heart out
Before I get out

Pink ribbon scars
That never forget
I tried so hard
To cleanse these regrets
My angel wings
Were bruised and restrained
My belly stings

Today is
Today is
Today is
The greatest day

I want to turn you on
I want to turn you on
I want to turn you on
I want to turn you

Today is the greatest
Today is the greatest day
Today is the greatest day
That I have ever really known

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Music Mondays and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you!

