Vapor Trail

Stratospheric traces of our transitory flight
Trails of condensation held
In narrow paths of white
The sun is turning black
The world is turning gray
All the stars fade from the night
The oceans drain away

Horizon to horizon
Memory written on the wind
Fading away, like an hourglass, grain by grain
Swept away like voices in a hurricane

In a vapor trail, in a vapor trail

Atmospheric phases make the transitory last
Vaporize the memories that freeze the fading past
Silence all the songbirds
Stilled by the killing frost
Forests burn to ashes
Everything is lost

Horizon to horizon
Memory written on the wind
Washed away like footprints in the rain
Swept away like voices in a hurricane

In a vapor trail, in a vapor trail

Washed away like footprints in the rain
Swept away like voices in a hurricane

In a vapor trail, in a vapor trail
In a vapor trail, in a vapor trail
In a vapor trail, in a vapor trail
In a vapor trail, in a vapor trail

Rush~Music: Geddy Lee and Alex Lifeson, Lyrics: Neil Peart

I’m from Alberta and Fort McMurray in Northern Alberta is on fire and it’s spreading.

I watch the vapor trail above in the morning sky while the sun turns black, the sky turns gray, the forest turns to ashes and everything is lost in Fort Mac.   We are all so small, all just specks of dust on this Earth and…in the campo.

A vapor trail in a morning skyVapor Trail Vapor Trail Vapor Trail Vapor Trail
To see other interpretations of this week’s photo challenge ‘Earth’ go here.

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Vapor Trail

  1. Cathy_V says:

    Hi girl, guy, kitties THANK YOU so much for putting together that 2013 Living in Panama cost report.  That was a lot of work. Nicely done!  Has there been a lot of increase since 2013?  I am retiring soon and seriously thinking of moving there, possibly.Boquette or maybe Pedaling. . I am a single woman living in Northern Virginia close to Washington DC. Right now I have a space heater going under my desk and I am freezing. Question: Are there a lot of guns, armed civilians, mass shootings there?  There was another one here today 15 miles from here. I’m frightened of even going to the grocery store (that’s where one of the women got kill, walking out with her purchases this morning. I will be moving up the date if Donald Trump gets elected this year. With him it will get much worse.   Let me know about the gun stuff. THANKS

    Sent from my Verizon, Samsung Galaxy smartphone

    • indacampo says:

      Thank you!

      Yes, we’re a resilient lot and everyone is pulling together. People can be amazingly kind in tragedy.

  2. Cathy_V says:

    I’m watching the news about the fire now, so devastating.  I hope they can get it under control soon.

    Sent from my Verizon, Samsung Galaxy smartphone

    • indacampo says:

      Sadly, it doesn’t sound as if they’ll be able to control it in the immediate future and I see some of my friends are on the move again.

      I’ll be replying to your previous comments on the blog tomorrow as it will take a little more time, thought and space.

      Thanks for reading. 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

