Music Mondays ~ Rain

purple rain
n. A restless feeling. A non-descript feeling of boredom, restlessness, and confinement. A feeling one has when wanting to escape from responsibility (chiefly emotional) by travelling. Sometimes synonymous with ‘wanderlust.’ The desire to travel to escape an emotional commitment.
“Waiting for the early train, Sorry boy, but I’ve been hit by purple rain.” -America (Ventura Highway).

We’ve had our first rain of the season, just a little and early this year, but much-needed. As I was listening to the rain falling early Sunday morning, this song was going through my head. I was never much of a Prince fan, but it would be difficult to argue that he wasn’t an odd, musical pseudoscientist and a pop mastermind.

Here, Bruce Springsteen pays tribute to Prince Rogers Nelson.  RIP.

Purple Rain

I never meant to cause you any sorrow
I never meant to cause you any pain
I only wanted one time to see you laughing
I only want to see you laughing in the purple rainPurple rain Purple rain
Purple rain Purple rain
Purple rain Purple rainI only want to see you bathing in the purple rainI never wanted to be your weekend lover
I only wanted to be some kind of friend
Baby I could never steal you from another
It’s such a shame our friendship had to endPurple rain Purple rain
Purple rain Purple rain
Purple rain Purple rainI only want to see you underneath the purple rainHoney I know, I know, I know times are changing
It’s time we all reach out for something new
That means you too
You say you want a leader
But you can’t seem to make up your mind
I think you better close it
And let me guide you to the purple rainPurple rain Purple rain
Purple rain Purple rainIf you know what I’m singing about up here
C’mon raise your hand

Purple rain Purple rain

I only want to see you, only want to see you
In the purple rain

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Music Mondays and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you!

