Music Monday ~ Spiders and Snakes

It’s Dry Season, prime time for ‘things’ to come crawling out from under other things.  And so today I bring you and oldie but a goody from Jim Stafford.

If you’re of a certain age, like me, you probably remember this song and Jim Stafford very well.  I can remember as a girl having a slight crush on him and Glen Campbell. If you’re ever in Branson, Missouri, Jim Stafford operates and performs at his theatre there. For now, here’s a ditty that he’s famous for, ‘Spiders and Snakes’ from…the campo.

Spiders And Snakes

I remember when Mary Lou said
“You wanna walk me home from school”
And I said, “Yes, I do”
She said, “I don’t have to go right home
And I’m the kind that likes to be alone
As long as you would”
I said, “Me, too”
And so we took a stroll
Wound up down by the swimmin’ hole
And she said, “Do what you want to do”
I got silly and I found a frog
In the water by a hollow log
And I shook it at her
And I said “This frog’s for you”
She said, “I don’t like spiders and snakes
And that ain’t what it takes to love me
You fool, you fool
I don’t like spiders and snakes
And that ain’t what it takes to love me
Like I want to be loved by you”
Well, I think of that girl from time to time
I call her up when I got a dime
I say, “Hello, baby”
She says, “Ain’t you cool”
I say, “Do you remember when
“And would you like to get together again”
She says, “I’ll see you after school”
I was shy and so for a while
Most of my love was touch and smile
Til she said, “Come on over here”
I was nervous as you might guess
Still looking for somethin’ to slip down her dress
And she said, “Let’s make it perfectly clear”
She said, “I don’t like spiders and snakes
And that ain’t what it takes to love me
You fool, you fool
I don’t like spiders and snakes
And that ain’t what it takes to love me
Like I want to be loved by you”

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Music Mondays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you!

