Here Snakey, Snakey

I realize the title is not grammatically correct, but I’m using it as a warning to my mother who hates all things snake related, and, come to think of it anything to do with worms too.  So here it is; Mom, there are snake pictures in the post.  Images of a little snake, but, a snake none the less.

Every once in a while, particularly during Dry Season, SU meanders about the yard lifting flower pots and the occasional rock.  His reason for doing so is that in Dry Season, all sorts of critters are looking for water. Some of these critters are not good for Dos Gatos to come in contact with, nor come to think of it, for us find while going about our chores.  Yesterday, SU was out in the yard when he yelled for me to get the camera. And that is where Blogging U’s Day Twenty theme, “Triumph & Contrast” comes into play.

Snakes are fast, and this guy was a sneaky snake.  We lost sight of him for a few minutes and then it took two of us to corner him.

* I would like to note that no harm came to this fellow during this photo shoot.   This beauty went back to the campo from whence he came.

Snake in Panama

I changed the contrast to make the snake monochrome and have the pot remain orange. This is where it was hiding.

A small snake

My, what a long tail you have.

Snake in Panama

In this photo I lifted some of the shadow and changed the white balance slightly.

Snake in Panama

Brightness and contrast are adjusted to highlight his little white tongue.

Snake in Panama

Brightness and tone were adjusted to highlight the markings.

Snake in Panama

Both highlight and shadow were increased.

Snake belly

Finally, I changed the highlight on the belly so it almost glows.

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Photo 101, photo101 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Here Snakey, Snakey

  1. Soul Gifts says:

    Better you than me – handling the snake that is. Interesting photos with the adjusted colours. I have no idea how to do that!

    • indacampo says:

      I just used the photo editor that comes with Windows. Like Josh said though you can use PicMonkey to make changes also. 🙂

      This guy wasn’t venomous to humans but Dos Gatos get overly curious with critters so it did have to be removed. He was small compared to the six foot Rainbow Boa that we had a few years ago. It was also harmless and was gently removed.

      • Soul Gifts says:

        Oooh – I’ll have to play around with Window editor more obviously. Thanks! I can be friends with snakes – from a distance 🙂

      • indacampo says:

        You must have a few where you are. And I like them from a distance also.

      • Soul Gifts says:

        We got some of the world’s most poisonous snakes here. And this summer they have been found inside people’s homes even in the cities 😦

      • indacampo says:

        I can not hit the ‘like’button on that one. 🙂 We have some baddies here also.

      • Soul Gifts says:

        I know just what you mean! There really should be an alternative – like an empathy button or something!

  2. I am much like your mother and don’t do snakes well. Nice job with increasing the contrast. The photo in which you did, the diamonds on the snake’s back are certainly more visible.

    • indacampo says:

      Did your brother also put worms on your head as a child? She’s been scarred for life. LOL!

      I leave the snake handling to the hubby but I do find them more and more fascinating every time we find one. Good or bad. Thanks for visiting.

  3. ME BE in Panama says:

    I enjoyed your post. I am taking cue from Kris and embracing (and photographing) the critters whose space I have invaded. We live in the tropics, right? It comes with all manor of delightfully different and interesting creatures from spiders, to moths, to scorpions and snakes. How cool is it that we can co-exist in harmony when we each mind our own space. There’s a lot to be said for that analogy.

    • indacampo says:

      I agree. I have my limits though. I don’t enjoy gecko poop in the house but happily co-exist with them outside. They always have the upper hand anyways, they are so quick. As for anything else, as long as they are not bothering Dos Gatos larger critters, such as this snake, are gently removed to someplace safer. For them and for Dos Gatos. 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

