Talk Thursday ~ The Queen’s English

I’m taking two courses at the moment, Blogging U Photo 101 with WordPress and the other an English Grammar course on-line with a university.  My days are pretty full trying to keep up with both.

The first and introductory week of my English course included a lesson in how British and USA English differ.  As part of the lesson one of the resources that I had to view was today’s video.  I thought that it was so entertaining and enlightening that I’d share it with you today.  Canadian English follows many of the rules of British English but I’ve also learned that more and more, USA English is becoming the “Lingua Franca“of English language.

I’m pretty sure that the people of the rest of the “America’s”;  Central America and South America would have an issue with the USA being addressed as the “American Nation”.  I know my neighbour’s just might…in the campo.

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Talk Thursday and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Talk Thursday ~ The Queen’s English

  1. Donna Janke says:

    I got a real chuckle from the video. As a Canadian I often feel caught between British and American spellings and use of language. As I’ve been blogging over the past few years, trying to stay true to Canadian spellings, I’ve discovered how many of the American spellings seem to be overtaking Canadian ones in general use.

    • indacampo says:

      I’m also determined to stick to my roots. But it is sad but true that we are being overtaken. I’m glad you enjoyed the video. 🙂

  2. To use one of my favorite words from the Brits, “Brilliant!” Anita

    • indacampo says:

      LOL! I didn’t notice whether that word ended up on the Word Cloud of my grammar course. I know that I was first to submit “gratitude” as my favourite word. Interesting considering there were over 2,300 submissions. 🙂

  3. Kevin says:

    Thanks for reminding me of David Mitchell’s Soapbox. I’ll have to go and watch them all again. He’s one of my favourite comedians.

    • indacampo says:

      I was disappointed to see that there was only a few year’s worth on YouTube. Was it a show that was on regularly?

      • Kevin says:

        David Mitchell appears on TV regularly here in the UK. I don’t think his soapbox videos were made for broadcast. I’ve only ever seen them on youtube. I’ve been known to be wrong on rare occasions. This could be one such occasion.

      • indacampo says:

        I think he’s hilarious. 😊

I'd love to hear from you!

