The Cowboy

For today’s Blogging U theme “solitude” I decided to head West instead of East.

When I climbed on my bike mid morning in search of a subject somewhere in the countryside I was thinking that perhaps I’d find a solitary cow or tree among the many campos.  I lucked out when I came upon a lone vaquero herding some of his charges in to be fed and watered.

When he noticed that I’d stopped he yelled at me; “¿Dígame?” Here that means; “Hello!” or”Tell me!” or “Can I help you?” I asked him if I could take a photo of him and he answered, o.k. with his horse.   After taking two pictures I cycled on.

On my return trip the cowboy was in the pen with the cattle and I stopped and asked him his name.  “Amoro!”, he answered.  I told him my name was Karen.  He then made a couple of kissy faces and laughed “Amoro, Amoro”.  I laughed at his joke, which he seems to be very practiced at, and wished him a good day.

You see my new friend Amoro, is named after “love”…in the campo.

Cowboy in Panama on horse

My new friend Amoro the cowboy on his horse.

Blogging U.

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Photo 101, photo101 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Cowboy

  1. kingsoracle says:

    Amoro,sure looks cute on that horse! 😀

  2. hannahkenway says:

    Do you think that was his real name?!

    • indacampo says:

      Most of the locals have nicknames especially the males who are usually named after their fathers. I wouldn’t doubt that this was his nickname. Thinking about the encounter has made me chuckle again. 😊

I'd love to hear from you!

