Release These Please

SU has a habit of wearing clothing until it is falling from him.  He’s frugal that way and it’s an endearing and yet frustrating trait.

This week I managed to convince him it would not be proper to wear these shorts, even to work in, and it was time to let them go.  He let me throw them out with a small murmur of protest…in the campo.a b c
To see other interpretations of the photo challenge “time”go here.

Do you have a favourite item of clothing that you hated to throw out when it was clearly past it’s due date? Tell me about it.  🙂

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Release These Please

  1. Eric et Sandrine says:

    Hi Karen,
    What’s wrong with these shorts? People here pay a fortune on tore up jeans lol..
    Nothing to do with your post but what do you hear about the zika virus in your area?
    As always thanks for your blog it’s a pleasure to read it.
    Eric

    • indacampo says:

      Yes, we have several gals around town who are into the torn up Jean look. I don’t recall seeing them with huge slices across the rear end though. 😀

      We didn’t have as much of a problem with Dengue here this year and I have yet to hear of a case of Zika in the district. Our Wet Season was a very dry one and I believe it kept the mosquito population down. I’ve seen more in the city than I have here.

      Most of the Zika cases in the news are among the Guna Gala population. Last I heard there were 42 cases but that has likely increased slightly. They live in an environment with higher rainfall creating more breeding grounds for the Aedes mosquito.

    • indacampo says:

      Oh and thank you for reading! I’m always a bit surprised by compliments. 😀

  2. Looks like they can go at least till the next oil change!

  3. There was absolutely nothing wrong with those shorts, they were good for at least a year more! I had some very lite weight cotton shorts that I wore daily. They were very comfortable and not at all hot. Connie finally made me throw them out when they literally fell apart and no longer covered what they were suppose to cover. Very sad day! ;>{{

    • indacampo says:

      You threw them out or she removed them for you. I can see her handing them directly to the garbage men so they were never seen again. 😎

  4. pklainer says:

    LOL at this post. My late husband Jerry had a blue LL Bean blazer that he simply loved. When a small moth hole appeared in the sleeve, revealing the stark white lining underneath, he simply inked in the white spot with a blue pen. Yikes. Didn’t see a thing wrong with it, as the rest of the jacket was fine. Not sure he ever forgave me for confiscating the jacket and shipping it off the the Good Will!

    • indacampo says:

      I had a suit when I first started in the workforce that got ruined by some flying bits from a sparkler (don’t believe it when they say those things are safe). I was heartbroken as I’d spent my hard earned money on it and there I was left with a hole in the skirt. I took it to a tailor and he was able to clip a small piece from the inside them to patch it so only I knew where it was. It lasted me several more years until it went out of style. I totally relate to Jerry’s love for that jacket. Good on you for letting him get away with the blue pen for a while.

  5. I had a pair of Jeans when I was younger, I wore all the time. It bothered my family so much they tried to rip them and couldn’t. My dad took a pair of scissors to them. They didn’t even have holes or anything. They was nice old fashion strong jeans. Just saying.

    • indacampo says:

      And these shorts were pretty well constructed Levis. When I bought them (because what married man buys his own clothes) they were meant to be kept for “good”. That was blown to bits the first time SU wore them to mix concrete. LOL!

      And don’t get me wrong I understand the concept of “comfy favourites” you’re talking to the gal whose outfits now mainly consist of workout shorts and tank tops.

      May your beloved jeans Rest In Pieces. :D. Unless there is someone wearing them elsewhere in the world…

I'd love to hear from you!

