Talk Thursday ~ Pass on the Kindness

The talk video today is by John Sweeney the founder of Suspended Coffees, a social movement that has positively affected and transformed millions of people around the world.  The custom started in the working-class cafés of Naples, where someone who had good luck would order a “sospeso”, Italian for “suspended coffee” thus paying the price of two coffees but receiving and drinking only one. The extra coffee then becomes an anonymous act of charity, going to someone else.

On 22 July 2013, an anonymous customer in Edmonton, where I am from, paid for 500 large coffees at Tim Hortons, our iconic Canadian coffee chain. This started a movement that spread to a total of 30 locations with over 10,000 cups of coffee being paid for by donors in one day.

Watch the video and go to the website here.  There is a pretty neat interactive map showing the participating cafés and you can click on the area where you live to find one close to you.  Click on “cafés”, “find a cafe” and click on your location.

Have you ever “paid it forward”either with coffee or a meal?  I have and it’s a wonderful feeling.  Leave me a comment and tell your story.

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Talk Thursday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Talk Thursday ~ Pass on the Kindness

  1. I have done this in California at Starbuck drive thrus. Paid for the car behind me.

  2. just finished watching the video…Tears…thank you Karen!

  3. ME BE in Panama says:

    Thank you for your inspiring post and link to the excellent TEDx talk. You made me consider the kindness By and I have done for others. Many years ago Wayne Dyer wrote something that grabbed my attention, and it is one of our guiding principles. His phrase is, “When you have a choice between being right and being kind, Always Choose Kind.” We took that phase and made a simple acronym “ACK”. When we have a negative situation occur we quietly whisper the sound “ACK” to each other. ACK became our key word that helps us to stop, step back from any negative feelings, then refocus on the positive qualities of the person or situation. Over the years kindness has changed the way we interact with others and they with us. The best part of ACK is our that lives have been enriched by the wonderful benefits of this simple action. I appreciate you, indacampo, for reminding me to Always Choose Kind to me too. Cheers, Mariah & By

    • indacampo says:

      What a wonderful idea! We’ve been discussing more recently about our reactions to others actions. Not taking things personally and understanding that we can only control our reaction has helped us avoid a lot of heartache and teeth gnashing. That’s an important skill to learn when you live in a small community anywhere in the world. 😀

  4. Deborah Warner says:

    For years it has been a tradition at our local Starbucks drive thru for people to pay for the person behind them in line. Sometimes as many as ten people in a row will “pay it behind.” It always makes you good about yourself and the people in the community. Definitely a great way to start the day! Deborah

    • indacampo says:

      And don’t you wonder about that 11th person? Is it someone who was digging to the bottom of her purse to find enough change for a coffee or someone so distracted by life’s circumstances that they didn’t think to pay it forward… In either case it’s about how you feel doing it that is the reward. 😆

      • Deborah says:

        I never gave much thought to why they didn’t pay. Mostly I assumed they just wanted to revel in their good fortune and would pay it forward another way, another time. Years ago when I was trying to figure out ways to lay the foundation for the nieces and nephew (could not of kids of my own) to become people of character, I read about the importance of doing and sharing certain things consistently. Whenever the kids stayed with me or I picked the up from school or some other activity we would do the normal “tell me about your day.” The final item was always to tell one nice thing (random act of kindness) that each of us had done for someone. Some great discussions. Since then it has always been my private News Year’s resolution to try to do at least one kind thing each day. Not that being kind should be a NYR, but being mindful makes me more aware of the multiple possibilities I have before me each and every day to have a positive impact☺️

      • indacampo says:

        What a good example you set for your sobrinos. And I’m sure their parents appreciated it also. 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

