Desfile de las Mil Polleras 2016 ~ The End…

I have a few more photos to post and then I’m finished with the Desfile de las Mil Polleras for this year.

I’ve chosen to sort the pictures by the different styles, so I can show how diverse they are.  But first, a couple more of my favourites from the day, how can you not love that face? I wanted to pick her up and take her home.Child polleraOr this little one?Pollera childeOne gets hungry carrying all that bling around. Meat on a stick anyone?   El compañero just finished a chicken burger.
Boy and Girl

So now on to the outfits.  I’m always partial to the Pollera Montuna with a Sombrero Campesino and tembleques.  If I were to get myself a pollera, this would be my number one choice, but with the plain white cotton blusa/Basquiña.  This was my favourite of the day, simple braids and a hat to keep the sun off and no combs poking the head: Pollera de montuna
I really liked this sassy lass. She carried of the look with style:Pollera ladyThis mom and daughter were very pretty.Mom and daughter
I loved, loved, loved this one. She was just getting something from the food vendor.  Notice the big pile of rice…Simple polleraThis little girl and her mom kept going to the end and looping back in front of us with the other participants.  This is a traditional Pollera Montuna, with the white Basquiña and red skirt.  She’s also got the choker on a black velvet ribbon.girl with drum This is a Pollera Congo, more commonly seen around Colon and Portobello.pollero congo And here’s another example, notice the flowers in the hair instead of tembleques.pollera congo 2Pollera Blanca, worn for wedding, quinceaneras (15th birthdays for girls) and holidays.pollera blanca Another sample of a Pollera Blanca with the more Traditional Pollera Gala.pollera gala y blanca This is a pollera that isn’t seen much, the Pollera Tireada.  It’s similar to the Pollera Blanca but lines in red or blue are embroidered into it.pollera tireada I really liked this Pollera Montuna because of the blusa.  In the background notice the stripes of the Pollera Tireanda.pollera tireanda
These are Polleras Veraguenses.  The headpieces were very different and the dresses were a peach color.  I was trying to capture this woman and her young compañero made her turn around and pose for me.
pollera VERAGUENSEAnd a closer look at the tembleques which were a bit different.
VERAGUENSE tembleques
And of course the Pollera Gala or Pollera de Lujo or Luxury Pollera. The most expensive and time consuming to make, white fabric with different colored, embroidered stitches and with braid and lace. pollera galapollera de lujopollera galapollera de lujopollera de lujo And some odds and ends.  Some odds like Umbrella Man:umbrella man
And Too Cool for School:
cool boy
And a very enthusiastic drummer who wanted to make sure I got him digitized: drummer And a shot of the crowd while it was still light out.  Notice our Little Drummer Girl once again, this was up the street from where we were:crowd And for this float it was “The End”by the time it got to us everyone had gotten off. And not long after so were we before it got dark… in the campo.float

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Things Panameño, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Desfile de las Mil Polleras 2016 ~ The End…

  1. Donna Janke says:

    I am visiting Panama for the first time. We went to this festival on Saturday and really enjoyed it. I like your photos and enjoyed reading about the different types of Polleras. I didn’t realize they were categorized and named this way. I also took a lot of photos.

    • indacampo says:

      I’ve spoken to several people and most agreed the parade wasn’t as organized as in years past and started later than usual. Still it’s one of my favourites. Glad you liked it. Thank you for reading and enjoy your time in Panama!

  2. Absolutely gorgeous dresses and those little girls are adorable!

  3. ME BE in Panama says:

    I’m curious, with the expense of the dresses, is owning a dress a statement of wealth? Or do they make their own, if so what would the cost of materials be?

    • indacampo says:

      Costs can vary depending on the type of Pollera. The Gala with all the embroidery and lace is very expensive. In the past the aristocracy would have worn them, improving on their maids every day Pollera to demonstrate their status. Many of the Polleras are willed to daughters and grand daughters as cherished heirlooms along with the jewelry. And many of the skirts and jewelry worn at the parade would have been rented, as is likely the case with the Queens.

      As for the more common and less elaborate Montuna, what the working class would have worn in the past, many women make their own as is the case with my local friends or they have friends or mothers that sew. A sewing machine is still a cherished piece of equipment here. And I have friends who crochet the trim used in the blusas and other fancy shirts and also embroider. The fabric for the Montuna skirt is readily available and there is two or three fabric stores just in Las Tablas alone. Something I noticed is getting more difficult to find in North America, at least where I come from. Traditional craft work is still very much cherished in Panama and promoted in schools and by the government.

  4. Great pics… We need to see this next year!!
    Thanks!
    Do you know the dates for next years event?

    • indacampo says:

      I believe it’s the third Saturday of January every year. The information for 2017 is not up yet. There is an International Pollera Fair in July in Las Tablas also. Not sure what date that is. 🙂

  5. So gorgeous! I loved our time at the Las Tablas Pollera festival a couple of years ago and this brings back a lot of great memories! Anita

    • indacampo says:

      The Pollera Festival is usually the third week of July I think. I remember one of our friends entering his sombrero in that competition., he spent a fortune on it and didn’t even place. It’s also a great way to see the Polleras.

I'd love to hear from you!

