Snapshot Sunday ~ 17/01/2016

Girl eating icecream
My favourite snapshot from the Desfile de las Mil Polleras 2016 that took place yesterday in Las Tablas.

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Snapshot Sunday, Things Panameño and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Snapshot Sunday ~ 17/01/2016

  1. Andy y Kandice Brown says:

    That is a cute picture. Wasn’t that quite the parade! We really enjoyed it. Quite the experience.

    • indacampo says:

      Yes, too bad it had so many long gaps, at least from where we were sitting. It really is a beautiful sight to behold. This year meant a little more because I knew more about “the skirt” and the different styles and types. We had some real characters standing around us also. Glad you had a good time, it’s one of my favourite events.

  2. pklainer says:

    I love this shot. Rio Hato has parades like this too, and one of Minga’s daughters, Rufina, actually makes polleras. They are simply beautiful, a wonderful expression of the culture, and I love seeing the little girls all decked out.

    • indacampo says:

      It’s somewhat difficult to get candid shots here. As soon as Panamanian s see a camera they are delighted to pose for you. In some respects that’s wonderful because you really get to see the beauty in “the skirts” but I really enjoy the candid photos, especially of the little ones.

      My friend crochets the trim for the blusas when she has time. The whole outfit is very time consuming and expensive and takes a variety of hands and skills to make. I have another friend who is part of the folklore group in town and she made a new skirt for the desfile. The “gala” skirt with the intricate embroidery is not as common with the townsfolk, the “montuna” is. It is the flowered fabric, traditionally red she’s told me. Very campesino like!

      More pics tomorrow!

      • pklainer says:

        I believe the skirts and tops go for several hundred dollars because of all the skilled handwork involved, even apart from the head gear. I’m sometimes tempted to get one and bring it home as an example of folk art, but I know I’d never wear it and I don’t have the space to display it.

      • indacampo says:

        You need Rufina to make you a blusa to wear and then come during one of the fiestas! 🙂

      • pklainer says:

        That’s a great idea! One year they actually had polleras for me and my guests to wear. The outfit was very scratchy, as I’m not used to garments with starch and lace.

I'd love to hear from you!

