Wisdom Wednesday ~ 21/10/2015

This is a little personal wisdom today…

I realize that to each person, happiness is personal, what makes one person smile another soul may not even notice.  But ask yourself today, what gives you joy and hope? What is the most beautiful thing you’ve seen lately, who or what are you grateful for or what is that one thing or one person that you take for granted every day that you should be grateful for? If you ask yourself these questions and you can’t find any positive answers then perhaps it’s time to make some changes in your attitude or your life.

It may sound silly but I’ve been measuring happiness lately by the number of bathing suits in the wash in any given week.  You can call it my personal happiness threshold, but it’s not my only way of measuring my happiness.  I’m also grateful for the extended conversation I had with my mother, she always brings a smile to my face.  I’m grateful for our family, our children, Dos Gatos and our many friends.

This week I added up five bathing suits on the line. I should have had at least one more but the Weather Gods called for a change of plans that day.  Sometimes I’ve gone several weeks when my bathing suits have moldered in my dresser.  That doesn’t mean that I’ve had a bad week when there are no bathing suits in the wash.  What it means to me is that I probably didn’t have the time to take them out because I’ve been showing my love and gratitude to someone else other than myself.

I don’t mean this to be trite or condescending and yes, I am very lucky. In truth it hasn’t been always been an easy road and if things were to change at random or by plan I would still be grateful for the ride. Why? Because I choose to be happy.  Not one thing, person or place can change that for me.  And I’ve earned the right to happiness as do we all no matter what stage of life we are in.   For me, a five out of seven is a pretty good score…in the campo.

Join the conversation and put something in the comment section. You can tell me what you’re grateful for (trust me it will do you a world of good) or tell me I’ve full of c#*p if it makes you happy.  Bathing Suits

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Wisdom Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Wisdom Wednesday ~ 21/10/2015

  1. Good post! I say a little prayer each morning before getting up out of bed for what I’m thankful and grateful for. I’m so grateful for my loving husband and for my children I’ve been blessed with. My health is a big one, too. We are comfortable in our retirement but by no means wealthy and really don’t have any worries. I’m grateful that we can plant a garden and enjoy the wonderful veggies…even the process of putting in the garden is meditative. Winter is coming which I have a hard time with and need to remind myself of my other blessings 🙂 Happiness is certainly a choice as many people have so very little but I’ve seen them to be extremely joyful and happy. Blessings!

    • indacampo says:

      Thank you for your thoughtful comments, it sounds like you have the same idea about the path to happiness. 🙂

  2. I am an optimist by nature which seems to almost always lead to anticipation of the good things around the bend as well as the ability to enjoy the great things that life has to offer. I agree with you, happiness is a choice and changing your perspective as well as your path can lead to some great moments! Anita

    • indacampo says:

      Optimism is a great part of being happy. I truly believe that happiness and gratitude is something that we should cultivate every day. And similar to trying to eat well one slip up should not mean that you should throw in the towel. To borrow a phrase; after all tomorrow is another day… 🙂 Thank you for your eternal optimism and thoughts.

  3. Don’t Worry, Be Happy Lyrics
    “Don’t Worry, Be Happy” was written by Bobby Mcferrin.

    Here’s a little song I wrote
    You might want to sing it note for note
    Don’t worry, be happy
    In every life we have some trouble
    When you worry you make it double
    Don’t worry, be happy
    Don’t worry, be happy now
    Oo, oo-oo-oo, oo-oo-oo, oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
    Don’t worry
    Oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
    Be happy
    Oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
    Don’t worry, be happy
    Ain’t got no place to lay your head
    Somebody came and took your bed
    Don’t worry, be happy
    The landlord say your rent is late
    He may have to litigate
    Don’t worry, be happy
    Look at me, I’m happy
    Oo, oo-oo-oo, oo-oo-oo, oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
    Don’t worry
    Oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
    Be happy
    Oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
    Don’t worry, be happy
    Give you my phone number
    When you worry, call me, I make you happy
    Oo, oo-oo-oo, oo-oo-oo, oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
    Don’t worry
    Oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
    Be happy
    Oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
    Don’t worry, be happy
    Ain’t got no cash, ain’t got no style
    Ain’t got no girl to make you smile
    But don’t worry, be happy
    ‘Cause when you worry, your face will frown
    And that will bring everybody down
    So don’t worry, be happy
    Don’t worry, be happy now
    Oo, oo-oo-oo, oo-oo-oo, oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
    Don’t worry
    Oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
    Be happy
    Oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
    Don’t worry, be happy
    Now there, is this song I wrote
    I hope you learned it note for note
    Like good little children
    Don’t worry, be happy
    Listen to what I say
    In your life expect some trouble
    When you worry you make it double
    Don’t worry, be happy, be happy now
    Oo, oo-oo-oo, oo-oo-oo, oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
    Don’t worry
    Oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
    Be happy
    Oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
    Don’t worry, be happy
    Oo, oo-oo-oo, oo-oo-oo, oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
    Don’t worry
    Oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
    Be happy
    Oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
    Don’t worry, be happy

  4. I choose to be happy as well, often people will let an outside influence affect their happiness, that is not the way. Choose Happiness!! Great article, I always have room for positive things.

    I am grateful for the opportunity to go home to California and Arizona to visit friends and family that I haven’t seen in 3 months since that is how long we have lived in Coronado Panamá, and it was very pleasant to see them.

    Love the life you live and live the life you love -Bob Marley

  5. I’m grateful for friends who you may not talk to for a while, or even check their blog to see what’s going on, but you know if you get together you will take up right where you left off because it just IS irregardless of time or distance.

I'd love to hear from you!

