Talk Thursday ~ Roasting el marañon

Today’s video is an instruction on how to home roast cashews.  I’ve never done this myself as I’ve been a little afraid that being the klutz that I am I’d have a nut explode in my eye or something.  That and the scary fact is that the seed is surrounded by a double shell containing an a toxin related to poison ivy. If the cashews aren’t roasted properly the poison is not destroyed, drawback number one. Roasting the cashews created great amounts of smoke so it must always done outside, the smoke can also cause severe reactions by irritating the lungs so one has to be careful not to suck in a lung full, drawback number two.

I really like cashews, especially the home roasted kind.  We have a tree across the road from us but the grass is so high this year around the tree that I didn’t pay it a visit.  One never knows what lurks in the long grass around here…in the campo.

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Talk Thursday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Talk Thursday ~ Roasting el marañon

  1. Very interesting and it answers the question of why the nuts are so expensive! Who would have thought that the process could be dangerous or that it was so complicated? Anita

    • indacampo says:

      Yes, pretty crazy how we keep away from poison ivy and yet eat cashews which have the same chemical in them. And that’s why handling them is best left to those that know what they’re doing. 🙂 Thanks for reading and commenting once again!

  2. There was a TV program about harvesting and roasting cashews and all the people that came in contact with the cashews in the shell wore heavy gloves and face masks.

    • indacampo says:

      I remember seeing that somewhere. The video I saw also showed people roasting them in a big pan not over the fire like this. 🙂 I can’t see myself ever roasting my own cashews, can you?

  3. How very interesting and you probably get blackened hands through the process, haha. But so worth it!

  4. So maybe that’s why they say that cashews are never truly “raw”? I seem to remember cashews growing on top of a bell pepper-like fruit. Is that fruit edible?

    • indacampo says:

      I remember reading somewhere that “raw”cashews are not really raw. They have to be processed because of the toxicity. I believe “raw”means steamed in this case instead of roasted. And yes, they grow on an apple that is sour but good cooked. I took some good pictures a couple of years ago of the tree across the road from us: https://indacampo.wordpress.com/2013/03/27/just-a-tree/

      • Thanks for taking me back to that post. I actually left a comment there over 2 yrs ago! It is interesting how some produce has to be processed first before it can be eaten – rhubarb, cassava, acorns come to mind.

I'd love to hear from you!

