Sunday Snapshot ~ 02/08/2015

I noticed a very odd thing the other day while I was out in the front garden…
bat1 bat2SU had walked by it several times before I pointed it out to him.  It’s pretty unusual to see these little bats so low to the ground during the day…in the campo.

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Snapshot Sunday and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sunday Snapshot ~ 02/08/2015

  1. pklainer says:

    And not usually out during the day, right? Unusual behavior indeed.

    • indacampo says:

      Yes, I thought it really odd. Thankfully it’s gone, I was worried it was sick or something and didn’t want to have to deal with bat carcass. 🙂

      • pklainer says:

        for Karen: I thought that too, that the bat might be sick. Glad it departed on its own.

  2. Aww, he looks so sweet!

  3. Laureen says:

    Gotta love little creatures that eat Mosquitos AND look cute! I don’t actually know if this kind of bat eats Mosquitos or not, but they still are pretty darn adorable. Can’t wait to relocate to Panama next year so I can see these little critters up close too! Thanks for sharing, Laureen

    • indacampo says:

      They usually begin swooping through the yard clearing up the flying insects right before the sun is no more for the day. I do appreciate that they eat up all those nasties. 🙂

  4. I just stayed at the Helliconia Inn in Torio and in the light well above the entrance to my room there is a colony of bats that has taken up residence, about twenty of them. Apparently they fly out every night and come back to roost at dawn.

I'd love to hear from you!

