Here’s to Another Year on the Right Side

I’ve never been one to make a big deal out of my birthday.   I guess I’ve been a mom for so long that it was always more important to me that my kids got to choose what they wanted to eat and/or where they wanted to go for their birthday’s and not having a fuss about mine.

As the children grew older and they were able to have celebrations with their friends on their own, we had family celebrations and gave them a choice of what they wanted for their meal and dessert.  Restaurant, takeout or home-cooked?  Cake, a favourite square or cookie?   While I was home this past summer it was Daughter #2’s birthday and we spent a sunny afternoon at a popular Mexican restaurant noshing on great food and feeding her Margaritas.

It was my birthday on Sunday and having no family in Panama makes celebrating a little different. Last year I chose to go to Pasta e Vino and ask a few friends along.  This year I wanted to go to the beach and SU wanted to take me to lunch.  Then my friend called and suggested that I go with her and our other friend for a bike ride down to the new Beach Club that’s recently opened at one of the housing developments.  Her argument was that after all there was still “beach” in Beach Club and entry is free for the month of March, so we should go check it out.

It was a great idea.  The view is fabulous from the club and the shorebirds and pelicans put on a show while we watched them from the pool, and SU even joined us for a while. The afternoon was relaxing but the bike ride down added a bit of activity.   Later, I made a light supper with a fabulous salad.  I’ve perfected the art of making mug cakes (single servings, no leftovers to tempt us later) so that was my birthday cake.  To cap off the day, SU sang to me while we ate our cake, that’s not an everyday occurrence.

The day was brilliant, relaxing and fun.  I discovered that sometimes it’s good to make just a little fuss and I’m feeling really good about turning 53.  I’m also grateful I’ve been given another year on the “right side of the grass” …in the campo.

1 2 4 3 5

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in I Hope I Never Get Over, Things Panameño and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Here’s to Another Year on the Right Side

  1. schuttzie says:

    Happy Birthday, sounds like you had a fabulous time! Good to treat yourself sometimes 🙂

  2. What a perfect way to celebrate and begin your next year. Perhaps one of your birthday gifts may have been to realize that you’re happy exactly where you are! Anita

  3. pklainer says:

    Feliz cumpleanos! Pam

  4. Happy Birthday! I’m glad you had a good day. I really appreciate that you were born, so I think your birthday is very worth celebrating.

I'd love to hear from you!

