Snapshot Sunday ~ 15/03/2015

It’s melon season in Panama once again and there are trucks selling Sandias (watermelons) everywhere.  The other day we bought a large one and I immediately made juice with half the fruit and combined it with mint and basil.  I don’t strain it after I process it because it has plenty of dietary fiber as well as potassium.   This beautiful fruit also has citrulline (it’s most concentrated in the rind) that’s said to improve artery function and lower blood pressure.  This makes a 16 oz glass of juice perfect before or after exercising.

My favourite way to drink it is to poured about a cup into a large glass with plenty of ice and Club Soda.  It’s so very refreshing on a hot day.  As our watermelons always have plenty of seeds in them I’ve perfected the art of slicing around them and having very little waste before I process the flesh in the blender.

1

We’ve also been munching away on large chunks for breakfast and lunch.  I try to cook with what I have on hand and last night I made a cucumber, watermelon and feta salad with plenty of mint and a honey, lemon dressing.  SU called it “light and refreshing” so it’s a keeper in the recipe file.

We can buy a small melon for $1.00 or a really big one like this one for $3.00.  We love Sandia Season especially when they are delivered right to the door…in the campo.

2

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Snapshot Sunday, Things Panameño and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Snapshot Sunday ~ 15/03/2015

  1. Sunnymikkel says:

    It is good frozen also, just stick a slice in the freezer and when it is good and frozen, just take it out and munch away! I promise that if you eat any seeds, you will NOT grow a watermelon vine in your stomach.

  2. schuttzie says:

    Yum, Yum! Do you use the rind, also? Watermelon is so good for you and what great prices you have there! 🙂

    • indacampo says:

      I forgot all about watermelon pickles until I realized that the citrulline is most concentrated in the rind. I’ll have to think about that the next time the young fellows come around selling them. 🙂

  3. Laureen says:

    How long does the season last? We are visiting next month….

    • indacampo says:

      I think most of the melons are harvested in this area but they will still be bringing some from the highlands in Chiriqui. Although we may not see as many of the yellow melons or cantaloupe.

  4. I’ll have to try one in the blender. We tend to just eat them and they are so good!

    • indacampo says:

      The added herbs make it very refreshing. I use Hierba Buena and/or Basil. Herbs are so cheap here so I find myself using more fresh.

I'd love to hear from you!

