Congo Wall

On a recent trip to Panama my friend and I took a day trip to Isla Grande.  The island is at the northernmost point of Panama and the largest island in the Bocas archipelago in the Caribbean Sea.  The island is located within the Parque Nacional Portobelo, a little over 200 km from Panama City.  We went during the week while it is quiet, but on weekends and holidays it is a popular vacation spot for Panamanians. It is a beautiful and lush tropical paradise, encircled by coral reefs and white sand beaches.

The island has no cars and travelers arrive by a five-minute boat ride that cost $2.50 per person from La Guaira on the mainland.  The few inhabitants of the island are mostly fishermen and are descendants of African slaves from Guinea and Congo.  The name used on the island to describe their community is Congos. The Congos practice a religion where some components of Christianity blend with magical beliefs and rites. After lunch we went exploring, following the path along the island.  Here I found a wall, perhaps depicting Congo symbols, that was in a dilapidated state but still beautiful and unusual.

1

To see more walls from this week’s WordPress Photo Challenge click here.

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Congo Wall

  1. yogisaputro says:

    Interesting. Have you asked the locals about its meaning?

    • indacampo says:

      I wasn’t there long enough to really talk to any of the locals. I think our walk was taken while most of them were having their siestas because it was pretty quiet. 🙂 I did have a fairly lengthy conversation earlier in the day with a woman that lives close but it was before we reached the island. I’ll have to research these a little more. 🙂

  2. Nurul Lubis says:

    Interesting.. I’m living in Congo.. But I never saw this symbol before.. Maybe, I need to wander more… Thanks for sharing..

    • indacampo says:

      This wall reminded me of the vodoo man that I saw once on a trip to Dominican Republic. Males and females have exaggerated body parts and chickens or roosters figure predominately. Maybe it’s the Afro Carribean/Latin American/Mystical Voodoo culture that has evolved over time?

  3. Pingback: The Wall | My Atheist Blog

I'd love to hear from you!

