Dear Union Fenosa

Dear Union Fenosa:

I’m writing this to tell you that you ruined my evening once again.  This has happened several times in the last week not to mention many times over the years that I have lived here.  This time however I cannot get over my disappointment of last evening.  You see Union Fenosa our electricity ceased operation right as I was chanting; “Katy Perry, Katy Perry!” and was eagerly anticipating the Super Bowl Half Time Show and the second half of what turned out to be a very close championship football game.

Union Fenosa, you may find my anger petty and small but in reality I’ve really had enough of your antics.  You disappear for hours at a time, lately 10 hours or more a day.  If I could break up with you and find an electricity provider who understood how important it is to have lights and power 24/7 I would.  I would look for a company who is kind and has the proper infrastructure to support our little family in the pueblo.  I need a company who means what it says and says what it means and actually knows how to figure out what the problem is.  I need a caring nurturing company that is honest and doesn’t leave me sitting in the dark several times in a week and lets me finish at least one load of wash without deciding to leave me.

Union Fenosa, I think I deserve a company that treats me fairly.  I know that you are a busy, busy guy operating in 25 countries or more.  I try to keep my energy consumption down and always get credit for keeping my usage under 600 kw every month.  This month you even recognized me for keeping my usage under 400 kw and I appreciate that about you.  I try to watch the household budget the best I can and still you don’t appreciate it and cut me off arbitrarily.  I pay you as soon as you ask because I’ve seen with my own eyes how you snip electrical lines when others get behind on their payments.  I know I know there are several people on our grid that use air conditioning 24/7 , straining our system and causing problems with our relationship and our fellow neighbours on the grid.  I have to feel some empathy for them because they aren’t used to feeling the warm Panamanian breezes on their skin.  Please don’t let that interfere with how you feel about me.  Maybe the solution to fixing our relationship is to let over users have a grid of their own so they can spend as much time in their air conditioning as they wish.  I am concerned about my other neighbours in the community, those who have no way around your manipulation.  I see them on their front porches with their families in the dark, holding the one flashlight they own, wondering how long you have left us all once again and if their food will spoil from lack of refrigeration.

Union Fenosa, I also have a concern about the company you keep.  I’ve seen those Cobra guys driving around.  I’ve also seen the new guy you’ve been hanging around with, I didn’t quite catch his name but I think his first name is Linea.  I worry that they may be leading you around by the nose and not being honest with you about what your faults are so they can line their own pockets.  I’ve heard that you pay them every time they answer your call.  Do you ever come back out on your own and wonder if you do have a problem that requires more of a 12 Step Program than the support those lousy friends of yours are giving you?

Finally, Union Fenosa, I am really worried about your possible capers during Carnaval.  The population in our little community has already increased exponentially with tourists, new houses and temporary residents.  I worry that the stress of even more people might send you over the functional edge.  We’ve already experienced problems with Dengue Fever and Hanta Virus this year; if you’re not up to snuff for Carnaval I foresee even greater danger and it won’t be pretty.  Union Fenosa, I really hope for all our sakes that you can get it together enough by then so that we can live together in harmony.  I know that we don’t speak the same language but you’re a big guy with lots of helpers and I’m willing to learn yours, can you learn mine?  All I’m asking for is a little light in the dark, can you give me that Union Fenosa…in the campo?

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Things Panameño and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Dear Union Fenosa

  1. mcmoller says:

    I was just saying to my husbad that it is very suspicious that the recent power outages (5-6 in the last 10 days/ 3 in the last 3 days) are always at night for several hours in our barrio and during the night, and the power pops on and then right back off 2-3 times each night. Yet it hasn’t gone off during the day. It seems like someone is purposely doing this without any concern for how it is affecting the people. Yesterday morning we didn’t have any water until the power came back on at about 10am. Although I except the occasional power outage, I, too, am getting tired of this and it is not even Carnival yet.

    • indacampo says:

      Yes, I didn’t mention the water not functioning from the main cistern because it is a cause and effect. No electricity where the cistern is no water in town. When there is electricity everywhere but our grid we do have water but at low pressure because of no electricity to the pump. I’ve learned to say “Con frequencia no hay luz en mi casa.”

      It’s become a fact of life lately hasn’t it? And to think that we are in the group of the most patient in the campo…

  2. orangedan says:

    Just a side note regarding those amazing Panamanian breezes everyone talks about. Unfortunately, we do not have that luxury here at Casa Concrete Bunker. We have a solid wall of trees to our north AND the entire other half of our duplex. So we get exactly zero breeze. We opened up every window and door last night and I remarked to Allison that it was like we’re in a vacuum.

    So not everyone is in the same situation. Just wanted to add that since it appears some “power shaming” seeped into your otherwise marvelously written letter. 😉

    Cheers!
    Dan

    • indacampo says:

      Note that I have empathy. There are people, for instance my neighbour who are only here intermittently, who have difficulty being in the house without the air conditioning on. Mr. Fenoso needs to get his act together and realize that his output isn’t enough for this burg anymore. Especially at this time of year, Snowbird and tourist season when previously unoccupied houses are full as are the hostals. And don’t get me started about Mr. IDAAN… I’ve heard stories from some of the town folk about how he hasn’t been too faithful or clean lately either. 😦

  3. Sunnymikkel says:

    Bravo Zulu Karen
    Very well written and nary a threat, just language that could shame the most idealist of utilities!
    Muchas Gracias!

    • indacampo says:

      Gracias! Don’t know where it will get me but so far so good today. Our friend is behaving. 🙂

  4. Bummer! It was a good game and wonderful half time show. I hope you found Katy Perry’s performance on YouTube or somewhere. Is your population outgrowing the power supply there? I can only imagine how annoying that is when the power goes out over and over.

    • indacampo says:

      Well, amazingly it stayed on all day yesterday. I was happy as I was down with the flu and in bed all day throwing the covers on and off with fever. I’m just glad the fans were working. 🙂 Feeling much better today thank goodness.

  5. Oh my goodness – this company really needs a shake-up! Would it help to send this letter to their headquarters?

  6. Still having electricity problems in Pedasi? Has the crime wave continued? Thanks – Jason

    • indacampo says:

      Sí, tenemos algunos problemas. But in a place as small as this there are also problems with rumours. Hopefully with school returning soon and the holiday season over things will begin to settle and the community will be able to better organize and reboot so our community can be tranquilo once again. 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

