Ted Talk Thursday ~ Do What You Love

There are thousands of people out there that living lives of quiet, screaming desperation who work long, hard hours, at jobs they hate to enable them to buy things they don’t need to impress people they don’t like.  ~ Nigel Marsh ~

Today’s talk was suggested by friend Kris over at The Panama Adventure.  Many (although not all) of us who have moved to Panama have dumped the consumerist lifestyle to focus on the things that make us truly happy.   I’ve come to believe that remembering to do the things that you love is a continuous process.  Sometimes we forget what truly “fills us up” and we have to take a step back and check how we want to live our lives.

I hope you enjoy this video as much as I did and thank you Kris for suggesting it.  You may not want to get rid of all your stuff and embark on a world adventure but finding our bliss is something that we can all use a little reminding of…in the campo.

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Talk Thursday and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ted Talk Thursday ~ Do What You Love

  1. John & Susan says:

    Awesome! Thanks for posting this. We can relate. We lived on our sailboat for 6 years and 3 of them cruising ,after getting rid of all our stuff we can attest to the feeling of Freedom!
    We are looking forward to having this feeling again,, when we move to Panama in May!

    • indacampo says:

      I always say how much you need is a matter of perspective but it is liberating to realize you don’t need the “stuff” to make you happy. I get so much joy these days from the morning sunrise or the happiness I see on my little English students faces when they’re singing Insy Winsy Spider. It´s the greatest feeling. 🙂

      • John & Susan says:

        Yep…it’s the little things and unexpected that enrich’s our lives.

  2. pklainer says:

    I did a huge downsizing to move to Seattle, and will probably do another one when the couple I rent the condo from decide to sell. I’m very happy to have less stuff to maintain, and will be happy to do another round of “let’s see what I have that I really don’t need that someone else could use” when that happens. Like you, I’m much more focused on what really brings joy, and it sure isn’t stuff.

I'd love to hear from you!

