Remembrance Day November 2014

In Canada, November 11 is Remembrance Day.  The 11th day of the 11th month at 11:00 marks the anniversary of the official end of the World War I.  In contemporary Canada the day is now a day to give thanks to the Canadian Armed Forces and to honour the men and women that have given their lives in service to Canada.

This year, I’d like to share with you the commemorative editorial cartoon from Patrick LaMontagne that was recently published in the Edmonton Journal.  Mr. LaMontagne wrote  on his Facebook Page;  “Both my wife and one of my editors asked me who wrote the quote in my Remembrance Day editorial cartoon that I posted today. While I’ve used quotes in the past, I would never do so without accreditation. The words in the cartoon, I wrote them myself.”

Remembrance 2014

Today we’ll grant them all a silent moment, think on them gently and raise a toast to them…in the campo.

You can read a blog post that Mr. LaMontagne wrote about creating his Remembrance Day editorial cartoon here.

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in The Mine. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Remembrance Day November 2014

  1. Sunnymikkel says:

    Please thank SU for his service!

  2. Loca Gringa says:

    My aunt was a nun of the Oblate sisters. One day while she was home from an 11 year stint in Congo, Africa, we were out for a beer. It was around this time of year. Conversation covered many topics, but the most surprising was the topic of war. I had asked her how she as former Mother Superior and activist for the rights of the human spirit, what she thought of war. She told me, “Sometimes, you have to take a very unpleasant stand and do what is right, sometimes, we need to fight.” I was very impressed. My pretty darned cool aunt!

    From there we chatted about the men and women that served and how best to honour them for their great gift. (Not once in my education nor my daughter’s educations were women once mentioned for their war efforts or service.) We, my aunt and I, were being so political 🙂

    Her parting thoughts on the subject, these thoughts of a woman that truly loved ALL unconditionally …

    ” … and they loved us into freedom.”

    And to this day, new trials continue to surface, and new guardians to are freedoms continue to love us into freedom. Remembering to honour the fallen, and those that continue to fight.

I'd love to hear from you!

