La Araña ~ Nighttime

A few weeks ago I wrote about a twilight visitor , a beautiful brown spider that had taken up residence on one of our palms.  I also said that when I returned to look for it the next day it had disappeared, but really it hadn’t, it had just gone into hiding.

After watching this handsome araña we’ve come to understand that it makes its home under the leaf of the palm, emerging to build a beautiful, new web only when it gets hungry.  Most days it sleeps and allows me to poke a prod at it and get almost nose to nose so to speak.   In the nighttime it will wake from its slumber to capture the nocturnal insects that it feeds on…in the campo.

Nighttime

More Nighttime:
http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_photo_challenge/nighttime/comment-page-5/#comment-441601
 

 

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to La Araña ~ Nighttime

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge-Night-Time | WoollyMuses

  2. quarksire says:

    Kewl Shot 🙂

  3. Pingback: tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  4. Pathway To Portugal says:

    How big is your little friend? It’s hard to tell from the pic. Did you name it yet? My husband has a habit of naming everything living thing around us. It’s really kind of cute.

    • indacampo says:

      I’d say she’s a good 3 cm when she’s laying down. She doesn’t seem to like the heat. It’s cooler this morning (about 27° now) and she moving around a little bit. I think she’s almost ready to bunk down for the day though. I haven’t named her yet though. I’ll have to get SU to think of one for me! LOL!

I'd love to hear from you!

