A Night Time Visitor

SU was in the yard last night with the flashlight when I returned from my fitness class.  Even though it was only 7:20 out here in the campo it was black.  It’s common for SU to be out in the yard trying to wrangle a stray gato into the house for the evening but lately Dos Gatos have been waiting at the supper table at 7:00 on the dot ready to tuck in.  As I got out of the car SU yelled at me to come out to the yard which got me thinking that he’d cornered a snake.  As I walked through the house and into the yard he explained to me that he had a Coatimundi or Gato de Noche cornered by the fence.  Wondering how such a large, lumbering animal got into the fenced yard I took a look…at a Zarigüeya. that’s possum in English.

DSCF1793

Of course the first thing I wanted to do was grab the camera.  SU was concentrating on getting the critter out of the yard while trying to figure out how it got into the yard in the first place. Apparently Bandit found the little guy wandering around and was following him trying to figure out what it was.  I can say “him” with confidence because when we finally got him turned around I saw his, ahem, parts.  I’m pretty sure that Bandit thought it was another cat in the yard, he was almost the same size.

SU managed to poke at him with the telescoping pole of the fruit picker and to finally get him scampering across the yard and into one of the bougainvilleas.  We shone the flashlight in the thorny branches but we didn’t see any beady eyes staring back so we figured his exit was probably how he entered.  The poor little guy was probably more scared of us than we were of him.

After our new friend returned from whence he came SU started muttering about trying to possum proof the yard so “his boys” wouldn’t get into trouble again.  I pointed out that we live in the country and we’re always going to have all sorts of creatures wanting to visit so, he should probably learn to live with them.  One things for sure, we’re certainly not lacking for entertainment by discovering new nocturnal critters…in the campo.

DSCF1795

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Things Panameño and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Night Time Visitor

  1. Sunnymikkel says:

    It is NEVER dull in Da Campo!

    • indacampo says:

      No and this little critter has probably been hanging around for a while without us noticing. According to Edison they like to frequent areas where there are chickens. Must have taken the wrong turn into our yard.

  2. pklainer says:

    When I was in the Peace Corps one of the volunteers out in the San Blas kept a Coatimundi as a pet, which I could never understand because the creature scratched the heck out of her forearms. But she loved the little beast. No idea what happened to it when she returned to the U.S. Surely she couldn’t have brought it with her, and her villagers no doubt never saw Coatimundis as pets.

    • indacampo says:

      They are cute but you’re right, don’t think I’d like one for a pet. We’ve seen a few wander down the street from the campo but they move pretty fast and in the dark it’s tough to photograph them.

      • pklainer says:

        They have extremely sharp front claws, and when my sister volunteer allowed her pet to crawl up her arm and sit on her shoulder the claws did their damage. She never seemed to mind. Odd woman, in my view.

      • indacampo says:

        LOL! Eric was worried enough that the possum had rabies and would go nuts. I can’t imagine snuggling with a Gato de Noche. You’re right…odd. 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

