TED Talk Thursday ~ Not in His Father’s Footsteps

I believe empathy is more powerful than hate, and our lives should be dedicated to making it go viral. ~ Zak Ebrahim ~ 

I came to today’s TED Talk looking for a video by another person but after watching this Talk decided that this was an inspirational talk to share.  Let’s face it, the world is in a bit of a scary mess these days.   We’re hearing stories of young people in North America and Europe being radicalized  and joining groups to fight in wars far from their homelands.  President Obama took to the television last night to talk about how the effort is increasing to ” degrade, and ultimately destroy, ISIL through a comprehensive and sustained counter-terrorism strategy “.  And then I found this video.

Zak Ebrahim was born in Pennsylvania to an Egyptian industrial engineer and an American school teacher. When Ebrahim was seven, his father shot and killed the founder of the Jewish Defense League, Rabbi Meir Kahane. From prison his father, El-Sayed Nosair, co-masterminded the 1993 bombing of the World Trade Center. Ebrahim spent the rest of his childhood moving from city to city, hiding his true identity from those who knew of his father. In this video he speaks of how being the new kid in every school he attended made him feel like an outsider; one of the main reasons that people become radicalized.

Zak’s statement about how much negative energy it takes to hold hatred inside should give us all pause.  Let’s all try to spread a little kindness today.

 

 

 

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Just blogging away!, The Mine and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to TED Talk Thursday ~ Not in His Father’s Footsteps

  1. Sigh….thank you for posting this..what an amazing young man.

    • indacampo says:

      I’m glad you thought so! I didn’t even think about what the date was today until I posted.

  2. John Pazera says:

    Wow. Thank you.

  3. What a powerful testimony to the human spirit and freedom of choice. “I am not my father.” Zak accomplished a lot to be able to say this. Now the next step in his development is to be able to define who and what he (Zak) IS.
    As the daughter of a father who defended Hitler for all the “good” he did, I too can say “I am not my father.” But more than that I have become a multi-cultural person with a bi-racial extended family and people from all races and major (and no) religions among my friends. That’s who I have become in the world and I truly treasure that. I recently called a friend on the carpet for e-mailing an anti-muslim article and she has avoided me since then. I can’t tolerate ignorant -isms anymore in my private circle and if I lose a friend over it, so be it.
    Thanks for sharing Zak’s talk.

    • indacampo says:

      You’re more than welcome. Thank you for sharing your experiences. We’re somewhat insulated here from the outside world but it’s difficult not to get drawn in by what is on the news these days. Every once in a while it’s nice to see some happy news from someone who wants to make the world a better place.

I'd love to hear from you!

