Iconic Canadiana

An iconic landmark that is practically on every corner in every town large and small throughout Canada is a Tim Hortons  simply known as Tim’s or Timmies. I only started drinking coffee about five years ago and I don’t mind a Tim’s but SU and I fell into drinking Starbucks as our take out coffee before we moved to Panama. Living in Panama where they grow some of the best coffee in the world I’ve been spoiled and it doesn’t matter what I drink, the cheaper Tim’s or the more expensive Starbucks I still like my home-brewed Panamanian coffee.

1

Whether one likes the coffee or not most will agree that Tim’s  makes the most scrumptious doughnuts on earth. Last night after supper Mom suggested that we take a walk over to the plaza a few blocks away and get a doughnut. I have to admit that the thought of a walk was appealing even if it meant negating the exercise with a sugary treat, but what the heck I’ve already put on about 10 pounds since I’ve been on vacation.

Tim’s always has a “Doughnut of the Month”. This month the doughnut is Oreo, and it was full of ooey gooey deliciousness. As SU would say; “Go big or go home”, and I’m definitely going to be bigger when I go Home to the campo.

2

Read more:
http://o.canada.com/life/food-drink/want-to-see-your-dream-doughnut-on-tims-menu-heres-your-chance/
http://shelink.wordpress.com/2014/07/06/the-best-bracelets/
http://brushneedleandwhisk.wordpress.com/2014/07/06/what-a-treat/
http://atypicalways.com/2014/07/05/mini-chocolate-chip-pancake-donuts-easiest-thing-ever-takes-less-than-20-minutes-from-start-to-finish-with-hardly-any-cleanup/
http://dancer491.wordpress.com/2014/07/06/day-36/

 

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Just blogging away! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Iconic Canadiana

  1. shellmcc1106 says:

    Looks yummy! I never knew Tim’s had a donut of the month, guess I don’t go there very often. Not fond of their coffee or the sugary smell that hits you as you happen to walk by on your way to somewhere else. Do you think you have gained weight on your visit due to all the processed sugary foods that seem to be everywhere here?

    • indacampo says:

      Yes, and partly because my mother keeps shoving food in my face and it’s not the type we usually eat anymore…think perogies and sausage, mashed potatoes, and lots of desserts! 🙂

      • shellmcc1106 says:

        All the yummy comfort foods that Mom’s make for us…and we just can’t seem to stay away from even though we want to. Does your Mom make her own perogies?

      • indacampo says:

        No but she fries up a mean Cheemo perogy with fried garlic sausage on the side and a dollop of sour cream. 🙂

  2. sunnymikkel says:

    You are bringing a dozen back with you to share with your Vecinos, aren’t you! ;>}}

    • indacampo says:

      They would probably be like hockey pucks by the time I got them home, not to mention they’d look more like pancakes. 😦

  3. pklainer says:

    I love Panama coffee, and I’m a real coffee nut. Nobody here even comes close, and I live in Seattle where the mothership for Starbucks is located. 🙂

    • indacampo says:

      Si! And Eric still craves Starbucks, me not so much. FYI Starbucks can be had for a mere $16.00 a pound at El Rey’s now.

      • pklainer says:

        The only food thing I bring back from Panama is coffee – as many packages as I can cram into my suitcase. And here in Seattle I drink Peet’s, not Starbucks. 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

