Surprise!

People come in and out of our lives, and the true test of friendship is whether you can pick back up right where you left off the last time you saw each other. ~ Lisa See ~

I’ve been in Edmonton a couple of weeks now. It seems to have gone by so quickly because Mom and I have been busy every day. I had deliberately kept my visit quiet thinking that it’s summer, people work and have other activities scheduled in between so I didn’t want any special concessions made just because I decided to “pop in”.

As Mom and I had finished a good deal of things we needed to do while I was here I was thinking that perhaps I should call my friends and get together for lunch or a somewhat similar activity. Thursday night Mom and I decided that we would take a quick trip over to Costco to pick up a couple of things and as I was walking in the door I practically ran into my friend Tammy. Once she got over the shock of seeing me we walked around the store together catching up on a few things and she dialed our other friend who was equally shocked that I’d managed to surprise everybody and just “appear”. Upon reflection of both of their reactions I was pleased that they had missed me and that they were happy to see me. After further phone calls, we made plans for the three of us to get together on Saturday afternoon.

Saturday afternoon my friend Lee came by in her snazzy blue Mustang and she rolled down the top and we were off to look at show homes catching up along the way. We were to spend the afternoon cruising and then go to Tammy’s for a barbecue that evening. It was a lovely sunny afternoon to be out and about and after stopping at Wally Mart for a few groceries we were off to Tammy’s for supper.

When we got there Tammy was out in the yard, busy with her little granddaughter so we put our groceries away, grabbed a cold drink and went to join her. Once outside I was pleasantly surprised to see that our friend Michelle was also there. Surprise turned to shock as gradually, one by one, more of my girlfriends appeared. What a nice surprise! One of my friends has even hopped in her car the night before with only a few hours notice to drive 6.5 hours from Southern Alberta to see me.

This is a great group of women who have supported each other through the years through thick and thin, in happiness and tragedy and I’ve not known any one of them for less than 10 years and some I’ve known for almost 30. They’ve been my sounding board, my frustration, my joy, my support and brought humour into my life. Most of all, although some were skeptical and wary of the journey SU and I have been on in Panama they are all happy that we are happy even though we are far from the homeland.  Throughout the evening we laughed and exchanged stories about children, plans and grandchildren (and future grandchildren). Several times I looked around at the laughing faces and thought that new adventures are fantastic, but to be in the company of old friends that share a piece of your history is equally wonderful.

A true friend is one who thinks you are a good egg even if you are half-cracked. ~ Author Unknown ~

The gang from the back left to right: Me, Corina, Robyn, Tammy
Front row: Wendy, Lee, Michelle, Marielle
4
 
When we saw Wendy with a missing tooth we began singing the song from “Deliverance”.  Turns out she hadn’t gone hillbilly rogue on us but was getting some dental work done.
3
  
We kept telling Wendy that she had some green stuff in her teeth as good friends should do.  She just couldn’t pick it out.
2
 
Marielle competed in the Spartan Race on Saturday.  After being covered in mud for a good part of the day she was ready for a drink when she arrived.
1
 
Just a bunch of toughies.
5
 
Read more about friendship:
http://funstuffpeoplesendme.wordpress.com/2014/07/06/smile-de-jour%e2%80%8f/
http://crazyachers.wordpress.com/2014/07/06/thankful-for-friends/
http://shovelingsunshine.wordpress.com/2014/07/06/compliment-911/
 
 
About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Just blogging away! and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Surprise!

  1. That’s great, a really happy looking bunch of friends! It’s true, a real friend, doesn’t matter if it’s been an hour or a decade, you just pick right up where you left off. I love that kind of friend.

I'd love to hear from you!

