Ted Talk Thursday ~ Are You My Mother? Or My Cousin?

Of course I know who my mother is but “Are You My Mother?” is the story about a fledgling bird. His mother, thinking her egg will stay in her nest where she left it, leaves her egg alone and flies off to find food. The baby bird hatches. He does not understand where his mother is so he goes to look for her. In his search, he asks a kitten, a hen, a dog, and a cow if they are his mother. They each say, “No.”  It all turns out well by the end of the story the little bird reunites with his real mom and he’s on the way to figuring out he’s a bird and not any of those other things.

Summer is coming and many of us will be off to visit family, happy or sad, good or bad.  Today’s Ted Talk is by AJ Jacobs he of the alternative lifestyles and long, comical experiments.  It’s all about family.  With the Stanley Cup over I’m no longer able to cheer for Drew Doughty who I’m told is a long-lost cousin.  All I know is that because of him my maiden name is finally being pronounced properly.   I think it’s appropriate, now that hockey season is over, that I perhaps search out other famous people and pretend I’m related to them because; apparently we are all related somehow.  As it seems most of the people in town here are all related to each other somehow.

AJ is having a big old family reunion in New York on June 6, 2015 and he’s waiting for you to RSVP.  So go to the website and take a look.  Who knows, you might find out you have a famous hockey playing cousin 20 steps away and that your mother is really a bird and not a kitten, hen, dog or a cow.  Or that you too are related to most of the town…in the campo.

 

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Just blogging away!, The Mine and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you!

