Ted Talk Thursday ~ The Art of Asking

It’s not easy to ask. And a lot of artists have a problem with this. Asking makes you vulnerable.  ~ Amanda Palmer ~

Often when I post my Ted Talks I will change the title to reflect what I see as the main theme of the video.  This week there is no need to do that.  Amanda Palmer’s message is simple; learn to ask without qualifying the reason, learn to ask without making it a demand, learn to ask without shame and you never know what great things will happen.

Thanks to mi amiga Kris for suggesting the video this week.

:

And read more helpful articles about how to ask for help:
http://www.nytimes.com/2007/07/07/business/07shortcuts.html?pagewanted=all&_r=0
http://tinybuddha.com/blog/how-to-ask-for-help-from-people-you-respect/
http://v1019.cbslocal.com/2014/06/12/the-power-of-the-question/
http://denadouglashobbs.com/2014/06/09/practicing-asking-for-help/
http://studio5613.wordpress.com/2014/06/05/not-really-at-all/ 

 

 

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in The Mine and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Ted Talk Thursday ~ The Art of Asking

  1. Karen Ama Panama says:

    Very good and real message. I also like Brene Brown who has a Ted talk. Definitely worth watching!

    • indacampo says:

      I’ve posted Brene Brown for Ted Talk Thursday! Love “Daring Greatly” and “The Gifts of Imperfection”. 🙂

      • Karen Ama Panama says:

        That’s awesome! I guess I haven’t been following you long enough to have seen it.

      • Linda says:

        Oh, I just picked up that book, ‘Daring Greatly” Looking so forward to reading it!

  2. Linda says:

    Wonderful! Thanks so much for sharing! 🙂

  3. Linda says:

    BTW, Just bought ‘Daring Greatly” Can’t wait to read. 🙂

  4. Linda says:

    PS….I had heard Amanda on public radio one afternoon, this particular Ted Talk, and was so inspired. As a musician myself…I have been wondering now to get my next children’s album out….with funds so low. Perhaps just asking friends, fans for help….through a ‘Go Fund Me”, or….Not sure.
    It takes a bit of bravery, humility and honesty.
    hearing this talk again has helped me to begin to ask the question again.
    I know it will happen.
    Great post.

    • indacampo says:

      There are so many great ways to get the word out that you’re doing something worthwhile. Many of my friends have children that have raised money for their volunteer activities overseas by using fundraising websites. It’s so much easier to do now than when Daughter #2 was off on her adventures. Buena suerte!

I'd love to hear from you!

