Ted Talk Thursday ~ A General and a Gecko

This week I’ve begun teaching my English class children about manners; how to be quiet and listen in class.  I taught this last year and I’m repeating it in the hopes that something will “stick”.

The Ted Talk video that I’ve chosen is related to the discipline theme because I’ve discovered that when children don’t have a modicum of discipline there is chaos in the classroom.  I first watched this video a while ago and it carries a very good message that of “imprinting” values or creating a strong behaviour pattern for our children.

Colin Powell is the son of Jamaican immigrants who became Four Star General and an American statesman.  His message is clear, concise and somewhat humourous; children need structure and discipline along with a loving home and mentorship.  He calls this an investment in our future leaders.  I’d like to think that he’s right and that maybe one of the smart little ones in our English classes will go through to post secondary rise up and out and be able to give back to their community.

The second video is from YouTube and is just for fun but carries an equally important message about manners.  And I know I could use a little reminding…in the campo.

 

 

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Just blogging away! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ted Talk Thursday ~ A General and a Gecko

  1. shellmcc1106 says:

    Ha ha, don’t fist bump royalty! Very cute, but a great message.

I'd love to hear from you!

