Who Am I and Why Am I Here ~ In the Campo?

I am participating in a blogging challenge for the next 30 days titled ‘Zero to Hero’.  The idea is to take part in the daily challenges in the hopes of improving my writing and therefore el blog.  My first challenge is to tell you all who I am and why I blog.  Now, I see you yawning and reaching for the mouse to click that big old red ‘X’ in the corner to close the page but I promise I’ll try not to make it dry and boring.  Notice the word ‘try’ in there.

The first question, “Who am I?” in my opinion is pretty deep.  Maybe I’m reading too much into it but the question makes me think that there is an absolute answer, when I know there isn’t.  My “About” reads as follows: Who: 50 something female What: Canadian Why: I blog about living in Panama and sometimes about anything that burbles forth from my brain When: I try for every day but sometimes life gets in the way Where: Usually from my home in the Azuero Peninsula.

If you looked on the surface you’d see a 52-year-old woman (yes, I celebrated another milestone last month).   I’m five foot six and half inches tall and weigh murmel, I’m sorry I already gave you my age what more do you want of me?  I could tell you that two years ago my spouse (who I refer to as SU meaning Spousal Unit) relocated to rural Panama from Canada to take an early retirement in a country where we didn’t have to shovel snow for nine months of the year.  (Really, after the winter that Canada has suffered through this year I’m not stretching the truth.  Much.)

All that is what one would see on the surface, but of course there is much more to ‘being me’ than what people see on the outside.  I don’t profess to know myself so well that I don’t feel a need to grow and experience new things. I think of myself as a work in progress and each adventure or twist that has occurred in my life is to teach me something.  One of my beliefs is that no matter if it’s been fantastic or abysmal, it is always a good day when I learn something new.

I keep a journal (somewhat sporadically lately) but I started blogging publicly to share our daily lives in Panama with our friends and family.  Most of the time I write about things that are happening in our small town and how we are getting along living in a foreign country very much removed and different from where we come from.  My writing has evolved somewhat with the tempo and time and examination that I’ve done in the world around me.  I live in a place where everything is ‘mañana’, it’s forced me to slow down and not sweat the small stuff.  Many things still make me scratch my head but the Isthmus of Panama has got along fine without me for roughly 3 million years.  Well, maybe there have been a few bumps and bruises along the way, but you get my drift.  When I can find something to focus the lens on I enjoy taking pictures of the country life and the plants and critters that live around and with us, intentionally or unintentionally.

One of the primary things I hope that people take way from reading my blog is that to keep life interesting sometimes we have to step outside our comfort zone.  I’m not saying that everyone should pack up their belongings and move thousands of kilometers away from their friends and family.  For some making one small change such as changing their brand of toothpaste is an adventure.  But one small step at a time.  Or as we say in the campo ‘poco a poco’.

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Just blogging away! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Who Am I and Why Am I Here ~ In the Campo?

  1. I love this post! It’s a gift to those of us who have enjoyed following your adventure. As I read this, it made be ponder how I would express in the written word, just “Who” I am! Whew! Where to begin….You did it elequently and I enjoyed every word! Thanks !!

  2. aishasoasis says:

    Best wishes on a successful blog and warm greetings from Egypt!

  3. Karen Ama Panama says:

    I also love your blog and it helps me be inspired. This is going to be fun reading along with this!

    • indacampo says:

      Wow, hope I don’t disappoint you now! Gracias for having so much faith in me.

      • Karen Ama Panama says:

        You have nothing to worry about. It’s fun reading all the great blogs from all the people that already live in Panama.

I'd love to hear from you!

