Ted Talk Thursday ~ Personal Hygiene without Water

I am always lost in thought, it is my most familiar territory.

~ Ludwick Marishane ~

After a long day yesterday I was needing a long bath.  (More on that tomorrow.)  As I lay there I realized how fortunate I was to have the luxury of being able to wash myself at will, I know I’m such a deep thinker.  We have water outages occasionally but we are very fortunate to have a supplementary water tank that if used carefully can last us four or five days.

Clean drinking water is difficult to find for many people and for even more water to bathe in is even more difficult to come by.  Enter Ludwick Marishane founder and inventor of DryBath® a no-water cleansing gel that is antibacterial and biodegradable. A product that gives just bathed feeling without ever setting foot in a bathtub or soaping up, DryBath® is odorless and, when applied to the skin, creates a biodegradable cleansing film with moisturizer.

As you watch the talk today, take note of when Ludwick tells us that “…poor communities don’t buy products in bulk.”  This is the type of thing we see every day in the campo.  People buying one slice of cheese, one small packet of shampoo or one roll of toilet paper.  Coming from a  world of “buying in bulk” that has been a culture shift for us in the campo.

More Reading:
http://andrew958.wordpress.com/2014/03/13/indian-man-carrying-water-pot/
http://cleanwaterforhealth.wordpress.com/2014/03/13/water-changes-everything/
About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Just blogging away!, The Mine and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ted Talk Thursday ~ Personal Hygiene without Water

  1. shellmcc1106 says:

    Great concept. I should invest in some of those.

    • indacampo says:

      I read that he charges .50¢ a packet but he charge $1.50 to corporations such as airlines and hotels. They start accepting donations in June for their “No Bath Weekend” in September, if you donate you get some of the product. 🙂

  2. John Pazera says:

    How incredible! What a smart kid!

    Thanks for sharing.

  3. Interesting! When we don’t have water I think about all the people in the world who have to haul water from wherever to their homes and I feel very lucky. I was thinking what poor people are going to buy this? But, if it gets them out of hours of hauling water, and water that may not be clean, maybe it could work.
    It is interesting how you can buy small quantities… one egg, one tablespoon of butter. We were surprised by that, but if that’s all the money you have today at least you can have that one slice of cheese.

    • indacampo says:

      I know. I totally forgot about buying one egg at a time! I just remember being in the cooler at the store the last time I was there and seeing all those loose cheese slices. 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

