Ted Talk Thursday ~ Aging and Happiness

When we recognize that we don’t have all the time in the world, we see our priorities most clearly.  ~ Laura Carstensen ~ 

I’ve been away from the keyboard for over a week because I’ve been away in Panama again.  Dusty and I traveled there to help out another friend who was going through a difficult time with the care of her aging mother.  Mama is 89 soon 90 and was being cared for at home by two full-time caregivers when the situation collapsed.

It’s been my observation lately, watching some of my friends deal with elderly parents that at some time in our lives, if we’re fortunate that our parents live to ripe old age, that our roles get reversed; the child becomes the parent, the parent becomes the child.  So is the cycle of life.  Mama’s situation is looked after, she still a feisty woman for her age and now she’s getting the type of care and companionship that she needs and seems very happy.

Today’s Ted Talk is by Laura Carstensen who is the founding director of the Stanford Center on Longevity.  The center supports the research of scientists and other professionals intended at improving the lives of older people.  Carstensen is best known for research that discredited labels of the old as slow and surly.  With her students and colleagues, she has published well over 100 articles on life-span development.  Her studies show that as we age we are not as nimble on our feet and our memories aren’t as sharp, but we get happier as we get older.

As our society ages and we live longer we hope that our quality of life can stay good.   Dr. Carstensen’s research shows that as people get older they become happier, more content, and have a more positive outlook on the world.

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in The Mine and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Ted Talk Thursday ~ Aging and Happiness

  1. Wynne Wilson says:

    Hi, Really enjoy your blog. We also live in a cold Alberta and are considering Panama. One of the subjects I never really see discussed is what kind of care would be available for us when we reach a much older age hopefully! We have no children and we have to consider what will happen to us at that stage. Would be very interested in your thoughts. I wonder if most people think that they would return to their home in the event of long term care being needed. Thank you and keep blogging.
    Wynne

    • danjan66 says:

      Don’t know if I was supposed to put my reply here or on Karen’s blog – so did it twice :). Wow Wynne – what part of Alberta do you live in …. for a minute there I thought your comment said Cold Lake Alberta lol – which is where I am from. My huband and I are making our move to Panama in April! I also have a blog and Karen has been such a help for us when we have had questions, so feel free to drop me a line if you have any questions – I believe in paying it forward. My blog is panamaretireewannabes.wordpress.com. I have been a little lax lately in posting but today is my last day of work and now the real fun begins so will start to post more often.

      • Wynne Wilson says:

        Thank you so much for the reply. Can we e mail? Are you able to see my email address? Today we are leaving Edmonton and returning to our home in Kelowna. My husband is going to Fort McMurray next. Even colder there and I really want to leave the cold! I have started reading your blog along with Kris and Karen and Holly. Love them all. Look forward to hearing from you.

    • indacampo says:

      After my experiences this last week I am considering posting a blog about that very subject.

      Thank you for reading! 🙂

  2. danjan66 says:

    Wow Wynne – what part of Alberta do you live in …. for a minute there I thought your comment said Cold Lake Alberta lol – which is where I am from. My huband and I are making our move to Panama in April! I also have a blog and Karen has been such a help for us when we have had questions, so feel free to drop me a line if you have any questions – I believe in paying it forward. My blog is panamaretireewannabes.wordpress.com. I have been a little lax lately in posting but today is my last day of work and now the real fun begins so will star to post more often.

  3. I quite agree with the happiness factor as we get older, as does contentment and being at peace with oneself. Great Ted talk. Loved the parting line on what her 92-year old father said, “time to get [the older people] to save the world” 🙂

    • indacampo says:

      I think that my mom has the same kind of attitude. She certainly doesn’t have any patience for “cranky old people”. 🙂 Glad you enjoyed the talk.

  4. Agreed. I’ve definitely been happier the older I get. I think as long as you are healthy and can cover your basic needs, it can be the best time of life.

I'd love to hear from you!

