Ted Talk Thursday ~ Less is More

We’ve got to cut the extraneous out of our lives, and we’ve got to learn to stem the inflow. We need to think before we buy. Ask ourselves, ‘Is that really going to make me happier? Truly? ~ Graham Hill ~ 

Today’s Ted Talk is inspired by a few observations, conversations and emails I’ve had with people considering a move to Panama.

By my observation Panameños live quite simply.  In our area of the Azuero we are surrounded by fishermen, farmers and laborers; unassuming people with modest needs.  As more North Americans and Europeans move in building larger homes they search for more “stuff” to fill these homes.  We have a modest home by North American standards and we don’t have a lot of the luxuries that some of the grand manses have.  I’d like to think that we fall somewhere in the middle.  We have some nice “stuff” with which to live our everyday lives and things that make life easier.   Still, we’ve managed to clear out even more “stuff” since we’ve moved here.

Urban eco-idealists have a philosophy of living where they take all but the basics out of their environment. The aims are to get back to fundamentals, surround themselves with only the things that really matter and have less to worry about.  A growing number of people are seriously changing the space they live in, and one of the most well-known of these is Canadian Graham Hill.  His big idea is to live small.   Take a look at the Ted Talk this week and then ask yourself if there is some small way in which you can simplify your space and so your life.

Read More: 
http://www.lifeedited.com/
http://www.treehugger.com/
http://elainegreen.net/2014/02/06/minimalism-life-edited/
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-19648095
http://resaleevangelista.wordpress.com/2014/01/22/deadline-pressure-for-paring-down/
http://beccaellis.wordpress.com/2014/01/10/learning-to-let-go/
About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in The Mine and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ted Talk Thursday ~ Less is More

  1. oldsalt1942 says:

    “Stuff” has always been one of my favorite words. It’s amazing how ‘stuff’ just kind of accumulates. I came to Panama four years ago with three duffles and a computer bag. I just moved to a new house and I’ve got quite a bit more than that now. I’ve got pots and pans, dishes, cutlery, a microwave oven, a crock pot, a food processor, basket thingies because, for some reason, the Panamanian houses I’ve been renting .don’t go in big for shelving or cabinets. There’s a tool box, a motorcycle and helmets. It just sneaks up on ya. But it’s a lot less than most people, I think. I read about gringos moving down here with a shipping container of the ‘stuff’ they had back where they came from and can’t seem to be without…ever.

    And I’ve just added some NEW ‘stuff’ this week. Cable Onda swept through the neighborhood last week and signed up the whole street for t.v. service and internet. For the past two years I’ve accessed the internet with a USB modem from Claro. Slow (about 500kbs) but okay for most things I do online. However Cable Onda was offering 5mbs for the same monthly price ($40) so I signed on for a year. I doubt I’ll get the 5mbs service from what I’ve read around here, more like 3 but I should be able to stream some movies.

    Part of the program they offered was t.v. service. You get t.v., internet, and in home phone, all for one price. I don’t want the phone, but I did pop for the t.v. Why not, maybe if I listen to it I’ll absorb more Spanish by osmosis. I haven’t had a television for the last two years, and honestly haven’t missed it. But I naturally had to go out and buy a t.v. Picked up a nice LED 24″ set for $160. More ‘stuff’ to lug around if I move again…sigh!

    • indacampo says:

      LOL! You do with much less than the rest of us do. I’m one of those Claro WiFi people. Cable and Wireless wouldn’t install anything on our street when we first moved here almost two years ago but now my neighbor has a land line as well as hard wired internet and he’s probably paying much less than we are. We’re thinking about the switch. My hubby could not have done without television so we’ve had SKY from about the third month we got here. Until then we used streaming radio, which I quite enjoyed.

  2. shellmcc1106 says:

    We live fairly small now, compared to many, and yet I love the “high” I get from purging my stuff as we get ready for our move next year.

    • indacampo says:

      We still have stuff but I can’t believe how much we got rid of also. There are certain things that are worth holding on to. 🙂

  3. Richard says:

    Re-reading this post (and not realizing I’d commented before) I need to say that I always found the ‘less is more’ statement to be completely stupid. NO IT’S NOT!!! MORE is more. Less, however, can often times be BETTER and more satisfying, but less is never more. Those of us who have lived on small boats know that it’s the quality of the things you posses that makes life grand, not the quantity of ‘stuff’ you have. There’s that saying, ‘He who dies with the most toys wins.’ which I also that was a stupid statement. No, he who dies with the most toys is still dead as a doornail and he couldn’t take a single toy with him.

    • indacampo says:

      You are too funny! Gracias for leaving your comments, I always enjoy hearing what you have to say. 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

