Aloe Vera in the Garden

Aloe Vera is a short stemmed rosette shaped plant with fleshy, blade shaped, channeled leaves that have spots when the plant is young. Aloe Vera is a popular houseplant in North America because they are not very frost tolerant outside.  If we want to grow them in Canada we put them on our windowsills in a nice sunny spot and use them as first aid for burns and sores.   When I worked at the university our Dean’s Office had a massive plant on the window sill that I coveted.

Aloe Vera has over 200 naturally active and occurring components including simple sugars, vitamins, enzymes, amino acids, and minerals that support nutrient absorption, digestive health and a healthy immune system.  Aloe is a member of the Lily family, staying moist where other plants wither and die by closing its pores to prevent moisture loss.

An adult Aloe Vera plant reaches maturity at 3-4 years and can grow to 30 inches high with up to 21 leaves.  We have a small side garden with a few succulents in it.  Our Aloe Vera had recently started to grow babies and when I returned from Panama last week I noticed that it had sprouted flowers while I was gone.

1 2 3

The flowers bloom in summer on a spike and each flower looks like a yellow tube.   It is difficult to get Aloe Vera plants to bloom when they are grown indoors because they don’t usually get enough sunlight.

Some days it’s nice to find the gratitude in the little things around us and for me seeing our Aloe in bloom is one of those little things that makes me happy in the campo.

More Reading:
http://4housewifes.wordpress.com/2014/02/07/acne-home-remadies/
http://timbercityanything.wordpress.com/2014/02/06/adventures-in-aloe/
http://baguetsnapshots.wordpress.com/2014/02/01/aloe-vera-2/
http://soulspaceforwellbeing.wordpress.com/2014/01/30/help-your-digestive-system/
http://doeyandowlette.com/2014/01/29/aloe-vera-love/
About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Things Panameño and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Aloe Vera in the Garden

  1. I always have an aloe plant in the house – like you said, they are great for burns. Some people add the jelly to milkshakes. I didn’t even know that aloes have flowers, thanks for posting the pics!

    • indacampo says:

      They have those Aloe Vera drinks now that have the jelly in them like the coconut water. Yum!

  2. Very nice. I had a lot of them in Florida but none here. I need to keep my eye out for a plant I can add to my garden.

  3. Love the pictures! I’d love to get some Aloe growing in my garden this summer. It’s such a beautiful plant! Thanks for the tag! : )

  4. Olga says:

    Very nice! I was just discussing aloe vera with my boyfriend this evening. The grocery store in our neighborhood sells aloe, but we’ve never cooked with it. Wonder if it tastes good?

    • indacampo says:

      I’ve drank it before but I think you can also use the jelly in desserts and in salads etc. It’s also great on for the face. 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

