Weekly Photo Challenge: Selfie ~ The New Do

I’m not big on “selfies”.  For goodness sakes I don’t even like other people to take my picture, why would I take a picture of myself?  For this week’s WP Photo Challenge participants are to take a “selfie” and post it in their blog.

“Selfie” was named by Oxford Dictionaries as word of 2013.  In 2002, an Australian man went to his “mate’s” birthday party. He got blotto, tumbled on some steps and split his lip. He took a picture of his boo boos and shared it with his friends on the web.  The word “selfie” was born.  Trust the Aussie’s…

I mentioned yesterday that I had a new “do”.  I went and got a keratin treatment while I was in Panama.  The average price for a keratin treatment in North America can vary from a low of $125.00 to $400.00 or higher.  In Panama Colombians are at the forefront of the beauty industry and so mi amiga dropped me off at the Colombian salon around the corner to get myself beautified for $65.00.

Keratin is a protein that is in nails, skin, and hair. During a keratin treatment a product is applied that keeps hair straight for about two to four months. Keratin treatments remove frizz and make hair straight, shiny and easier to manage. To seal the keratin protein around the hair shaft it is flat-ironed at high temperatures after painting on the product.  After the treatment the hair cannot be washed for 24 hours. During the “curing” time it’s recommended not to use bobby pins or crimp the hair in any way.  New hair growth will be curly.

I like my curly hair and I don’t know if I’ll keep up with the treatments.  On the other hand I do enjoy the low maintenance of wash and go hair.  I’m also enjoying having no frizz and my hair is remarkably lighter.  It’s an unusual feeling after all these years of trying to manage my hair and only another curly head will understand what I mean by “manage”.

For this week’s challenge my “selfie” is of the back of my stick straight, shiny hair.

Hair

Related Reading:
weekly photo challenge: selfie | bob’s wife
Weekly Photo Challenge: Selfie | Retired2Travel
Weekly Photo Challenge: Selfie | six degrees photography
Self expression | Thin spiral notebook
2-7-14 Weekly Photo Challenge: Selfie (Not where I should be edition) | The Quotidian Hudson
Weekly photo Challenge – Selfie | Cathy’s Life Blog
Weekly Photo Challenge : Selfie / Foto Sendiri (Sepia and Decolorized) | bambangpriantono
Winter Selfie | Mary J Melange
Weekly Photo Challenge – Selfie « LargeSelf
38/365 selfie | @vannilla
Weekly Photo Challenge: Selfie | Occasional Stuff
Weekly Photo Challenge: Selfie | Foto de Moto
About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Selfie ~ The New Do

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Selfie | Bark Time = everything and nothing

  2. allison says:

    So pretty, shiny, slick and smooth! Love it!

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Selfie | A mom's blog

  4. Pingback: Irish Selfie | Weekly Photo Challenge: Selfie | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  5. Nice and shiny! I agree with you on avoiding selfies. They seem a bit self-possessed, when over-done. One of my daughter’s friends (who ‘friended’ me on FB) is constantly posting her new clothes, shoes, hairdo, makeup, etc. I like to see her face every once in a while, but the rest is overkill!

    • indacampo says:

      I’m living in a land of people who love, love, love having their picture taken. It too is a bit of overkill but I figure if it brings a little joy to their lives… 🙂

  6. Well done! I like your hair. As a fellow curly hair blogger (I even made a blog about curly hair not being a weapon or a toy!), I can totally understand you. 🙂

  7. Wow, who is that? 😀 It is very pretty, but you are beautiful with curly hair too. Glad you like it.

    • indacampo says:

      Oooh, still not sure about the liking it part. It’s slippery compared to my frizzy usualness but it is nice to be able to wear it down without feeling like I’m carrying around a fuzzy blanket. 🙂

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Selfie (A Happy One) | What's (in) the picture?

  9. It looks beautiful! Glad your enjoying the straight, flat, shiny soft hair! I bet it feels so strange at first. I occassionally smooth my hair out with the flat iron but I always feel so strange and not like myself! I’m so used to Big hair! Change is good and I’m glad your enjoying a new do! Cheers!

    • indacampo says:

      It does feel weird. I did iron my hair for a few years when I was still working. It took forever to do and my arms would be aching by the time I was finished. Then one day SU announced that he liked it curly and away went the flat iron. It was a nice, professional one too. Now I don’t even own a blow drier. Don’t know if I’ll keep doing it a change is good every once in a while. 🙂

  10. Pingback: obscurity [a series of hipster selfies] | Ramisa the Authoress

I'd love to hear from you!

