Words that Piss off Panamanians and Why You Need to Stop Using Them

Hola dear friends out in Blog Reader/Writer Land! Those of you who haven’t found this great article please take a read…Shelly you are excluded since you beat me to it. 🙂

Panama Picture Blog

By James Bloomfield

Earlier this year, I asked my facebook chums to weigh in on something that I had been struggling to get to grips with properly. It was something that may seem like a non-issue for some, while for others it might be an everyday issue that frustrates and angers them.

I’m talking about words that we as foreigners use to label Panamanians.

Specifically, how slang and phrases can be interpreted or used as insults in everyday conversations held in Panama. You have to be able to criticize things to make correct choices, yet I sometimes think that the frequent use of these words is indicative of a rush to judgement. So why ARE they so offensive and why should we stop using them?

View original post 983 more words

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Words that Piss off Panamanians and Why You Need to Stop Using Them

  1. Thanks for reblogging this guys! I really appreciate the support and hope it’s valuable. 😀

  2. Good stuff! I think it all comes down to respect.Don’t talk badly about others.

  3. cicero3332 says:

    It´s good to know, although I guess I don´t know enough espanol yet to be aware of the terms like chombo.

    • indacampo says:

      Me either, I’ve just started using Chico and Chica and that’s from hanging out with my Panamanian/American amiga!

I'd love to hear from you!

