Going Fishing in Farallon/Rio Hato

As I mentioned yesterday there was a little excitement down on the beach at Buenaventura before lunch on Monday.  We first noticed it when we were sitting on the patio and saw several Frigate Birds flying over the water in a huge group.

There is a slight incline (or decline depending on which way you’re walking) to the beach and SU went over to investigate.  It turned out that almuerzo was served on a platter for several Frigates and Brown Pelicans.

DSCF0220

As SU approached the beach he saw quite a few people people hauling in a big fishing net.  After taking a few pictures (here is where I give SU photographic credit) he came back up to let us know what was happening.

DSCF0196 DSCF0198

When we got there it looked like there were numerous families or perhaps one big family helping to haul in a net that a boat had dropped offshore.  I found this interesting because we don’t see people hauling in nets from the shore in our area, most likely because our coast has a lot of black volcanic rock offshore.

DSCF0201 DSCF0202

As we watched everyone pull and strain to haul the big net in I watched a little fellow walk around gathering fish flopping on the shore and putting them into an empty chip bag.  He got in the way of the net haulers a couple of times and another boy who appeared to be his older brother had to keep trying to get him out of the way.

DSCF0199 DSCF0206 DSCF0207 DSCF0208_2

As the net was hauled closer to shore we were able to see more closely what was inside.  As it scraped the sandy bottom it picked up fish of varying sizes, garbage, coconuts that likely had washed down the rivers and most surprisingly, two big Stingrays.

DSCF0229 DSCF0231

When I first saw these large creatures I felt all sorts of emotions, the first being fear.  Last year about this time one of our amigos got stung by a Stingray while wading on one of our local beaches.  The second emotion was curiosity at how a somewhat ugly creature could still seem so beautiful.  I asked one of the bystanders if Stingray is something that the locals would eat and was told that they do.   Much like our local campesinos the fishermen of Rio Hato/Farallon waste very little.

DSCF0232

Friday… what I didn’t know about Stingrays.

More Reading:
http://pklainer.wordpress.com/2014/01/21/panama-2014-fishing-boat/
http://www.panamasimple.com/pedasi-fishing-experience/
http://comefishpanama.com/best-fishing-months/
http://www.sustainablefish.org/fisheries-improvement/tuna/panama-mahi-mahi/panama-mahi-mahi-fip
About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Things Panameño and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Going Fishing in Farallon/Rio Hato

  1. Last night I watched a Martin Clunes special on Stingrays and Mantas. They are beautiful and gentle & declining in numbers due to fishing. In some parts of the world, fishing them is banned. So sad that we are destroying so much of the natural world.

    • indacampo says:

      Sally found it very difficult to watch as did I. I even found it difficult to watch the fish flopping around to tell you the truth but I do find them delicious to eat. Stay tuned for the next two days as I am continuing the theme.

      Thanks for reading Deanna!

  2. This kind of fishing is called Seine fishing and, in the Caribbean, it’s a community event: everybody who happens to be there, helps out either pulling or watching and giving advice. In the end, everyone walks away with dinner!

    • indacampo says:

      Thank so so much for the information! It’s always a good day for me when I learn something new! I noticed that most of the people were prepared with gloves and long sleeves and even the construction workers from the development got involved.

  3. Tell SU good job with the photos. I was interested to see the net being pulled in too. I have mixed feelings about killing things too so I’m glad to know what they bring in is all put to use.

  4. indacampo says:

    When we were down there later you couldn’t tell what had happened not much more than an hour before. 🙂

  5. Great pictures – thanks for the breakdown of the whole thing and how it made you feel. It’s a really entrenched way of life and it would be fascinating to see it.

    • indacampo says:

      Yes, we don’t see anything like that in Pedasi and we are also a fishing town. It was very interesting although like I said a little disturbing. I wouldn’t have turned down a good Pargo dinner but the ones that we see here are giants in comparison. 🙂

      • For sure! I’m following your blog now – looking forward to reading more of these, as I love the photo journalism style. I’m putting together a little post about the Mercado Publico de San Felipe in Panama City – I’ll shoot it across to you if you’re interested (when it’s published!).

      • indacampo says:

        I followed you also. Living in the campo it’s nice every once in a while to hear what’s going on in the Big City. 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

